Lewis’s Woodpecker – Number 200 for year


We had gotten reports that a Lewis’s Woodpecker was hanging around the the north part of San Angelo State Park.  We decided that it would be worth the drive to get a chance to view it, since I only needed to get one more to hit my goal of 200 birds for the year 2014.  Being that the park is very large, we had a nine mile drive to the north entrance.

Pat Bayles, one of the rangers, saw us at the entrance gate and told us that it was being seen about a quarter of a mile down the road, in a copse of trees near some picnic tables.  We drove down there and as we got there, a friend of ours, Randy Hesford, was already there and he had his camera trained on the bird a couple of hundred yards away.  I grabbed my camera and got out of the car.

The bird moved to another tree about 250 yards away.  The sky was very overcast, but we could make him out easily with our binoculars.  However with the lighting conditions, it was practically just a silhouette through the camera’s viewfinder.  Even adding a couple of stops to my Exposure Compensation, didn’t help much, as you can see in these photos.  I tried to adjust the lighting in my post processing, but with not much success.  Of course, with such a distance, I also had to crop extensively.

Lewis's Woodpecker

Lewis’s Woodpecker

Lewis's Woodpecker

Lewis’s Woodpecker

By contrast, here is a photo that I took a couple of years ago when a Lewis’s Woodpecker made an appearance here.

Lewis's Woodpecker

Lewis’s Woodpecker

Conditions were much better then, and the bird was a litle bit closer.  At least those photos above provide enough to help identify the bird.  So now that I have my 200 for the year, I hope to add more this week during our trip to Fort Davis.

So this is definitely my last post until our return next week.

23 thoughts on “Lewis’s Woodpecker – Number 200 for year

  1. Congratulations on reaching 200 for the year, Bob!! I’m excited because a friend gave me a blank journal for my own “big list” for 2015 and also a new Sibley’s field guide and a really great pair of binoculars! Can’t wait to get started on my birding list!!

    • Thanks, Amy. I stumbled upon a couple of “last Minute” new ones on our trip to Fort Davis. So I ended up with 201. I have set a new goal of 210 for 2015. I can’t wait to get started on the new year, too. Sibley’s guide is a great book for really seeing the field markings of the birds. I use my Stoke’s guide alongside for all the great natural photographs.

  2. Been tracking it for over a week. I told Pat on Sunday about it so they wouldn’t cut the tree down it has been using. Tree was getting ready to be cut that afternoon. The bird is quick and always moving. Some flickers there too.

  3. Congratulation! Big Hugs! Balloons and Confetti! Cake all around! Now you can enjoy that trip and just add a couple of birds. So happy for you and Ann, Bob. And, btw, you said that last post thing several posts ago! hugs

Leave a Reply

