Last Fling of 2014


Two days left in the year.  Freezing weather today and tomorrow.  With all of that, I guess my outing yesterday with Ann was the last of the birding for 2014.  The day was pleasant and the birding was fair.  We saw 28 species, but it wasn’t a particular good day for photography.  Only a Great Blue Heron co-operated.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

On the plus side, at one point by the lake, I tried to catch some gulls in flight.  I had assumed they were the usual Ring-billed Gulls that are all over the lake.  When I got home and looked at the images in the computer, I found that they were in fact Bonaparte’s Gulls.  Actually, they are as common here as the Ring-bills but I hadn’t seen one since last year.  So it became number 202 on my 2014 Big Year Birding list.  A nice way to finish the year.

I will be starting another list on Thursday, and my goal for 2015 is 210, an increase of eight over my 2014 total.  It should keep me busy and out of trouble.

I hope all of my friends and fellow bloggers have a great New Year’s Holiday, and have great things in store for 2015.

28 thoughts on “Last Fling of 2014

  1. Happy New Year to you and your lovely bride! Hope 2015 brings you lots and lots of birds! I think Bonaparte’s gulls are very pretty, I saw some at Sterling State Park late this fall. Can’t wait to see what kind of photographs you bring us in the new year, Bob!

  2. Hi Bob, I’m a Texan, as well. It thrilled me to see that you hunt using a camera! The best of 2015 to you, and your bird watching, for the world, endeavors.”

Leave a Reply

