Birding South Llano River State Park


Note:  This post is best viewed on your computer.  You can then click the images to see the fine detail in the fourteen different enlargements.

We have visited the South Llano River State Park on a few other occasions, but I have never posted about it.  It is located about five miles south of Junction, Texas.  Junction is about 95 miles southeast of San Angelo.  What I like about visiting that park is that they have four distinct blinds.  It seems that each blind has it’s own characteristic.  Each presents it’s own lighting positives or negatives, depending on what time of day you visit each one.  Plus, it seems that, although it may be my imagination, sometimes you might find a bird in one blind, that you won’t find in the others.  So we always visit each blind each time we make the trip.

On our visit this past weekend, it seemed that the Agarita Blind, (they each have a name), seemed to have the most bird activity.  On other days one of the others may be more bird active.

But as I said, with so much activity in the Agarita Blind, we didn’t spend much time at the others.  Here is a sampling of the birds that I photographed, in no particular order.

Carolina Chickadee

Carolina Chickadee

Black-throated Sparrow

Black-throated Sparrow

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

Chipping Sparrow

Chipping Sparrow

Northern Cardinal - female

Northern Cardinal – female

Field Sparrow

Field Sparrow

Western Scrub Jay

Western Scrub Jay

Spotted Towhee

Spotted Towhee

Pine Siskin

Pine Siskin

Pine Siskin

Pine Siskin

Bewick's Wren

Bewick’s Wren

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

American Goldfinch - adult breeding female

American Goldfinch – adult breeding female

After arriving back in San Angelo, we drove by our “K-Mart Creek” and saw this Norther Pintail to finish our day.

Northern Pintail

Northern Pintail

All in all, it was a great way to start the week, and we added six more to our 2015 Big Year list, to bring our new total to 92.  I hope you enjoyed this.  I appreciate any and all comments.

32 thoughts on “Birding South Llano River State Park

  1. Breathtaking! That pintail shot is absolutely gorgeous! But I also loved the chickadee, what a great pose and shot! They are always flitting about so quickly, I know how hard it is to catch them in a still moment! Also, that female cardinal photo is so incredibly crisp and clear. Loved them all!! You continue to amaze, Bob. Every time I open the e-mail with your blog post, I know I’m going to have an incredible experience!

  2. I stop by often but I have never let you know how much I love your photos: I love your photos and Thanks for sharing. You have inspired me to look closer at the birds in my neck of the woods. To that end I hope to purchase a super-zoom point and shot and give it a go. Till then I will walkabout and observe.
    The Northern Pintail is new but is one beautiful water fowl. ~John

    • Thanks, Jagged Man. It was nice to hear from you. I am glad that I am such an inspiration. I might recommend the Canon SX60. It is an excellent, but affordable super-zoom point and shoot. Many people are getting super results from it.

  3. My goodness Bob, that is a bunch of birds!! I could just squeeze the chickadee…such a cutie! I know you and Ann were happy with the day. Great photos. Thanks for posting them. hugs

    • Thanks, Alison. FYI, I have been using my new Canon 7D Mark II, with a Tamron 150-600mm lens exclusively. For these photos my ISO was from 500 to 1000. Actually, the titmouse was shot at 1500 sec at f6.3, ISO 500. What amazes me about this camera, is the nearly absence of noise at these high ISOs. The image quality is better than any camera that I have ever owned. The lens is sharp as a tack on the high end of 600mm where I usually shoot at. For example, the image of the female is one of my rare shots that is right out of the camera. Tack sharp.

Leave a Reply

