Canon 7D Mk II and Tamron 150-600mm, another comparison


As many of you know I have coupled my Canon 7D Mark II with a Tamron 150-600mm lens.  I have been learning much lately about that new camera, and with that lens I have been excited about the image quality.  This is a photo that I shot a couple days ago.  First I show you the original, straight out of the camera, but converted from the RAW format.  The 150-600mm lens was zoomed out to the 600mm mark.  Notice there is no loss of sharpness at that end, like some zooms have when fully extended.  The second image is my cropped finished version.  I did no sharpening whatsoever.

Original female Northern Cardinal

Original female Northern Cardinal

cropped female Northern Cardinal

cropped female Northern Cardinal

Notice the image retained the sharpness after cropping.  One more thing, there is a distinct lack of noise.  I must say that this one of the rare times that I was able to crop and use an image without any other editing.  ISO was 500, exposure 1/1000 sec @ f6.3.  I am finding that this new 7D Mark II is leaps and bounds better than the original 7D.

In other news, I did send my Tamron 150-600mm lens off to the factory.  Not that it needed anything, but since my lens was one of the first built, I found there was an updated firmware available for it to further speed up the auto-focus, so I thought why not take advantage of it.  I will say that I was already was impressed with it’s fast auto-focus, so I am anxious to see how much more it can be improved.  So I will miss it for a few days, but I have my Canon 100-400mm zoom lens as a backup and I will put a 1.4 teleconverter on it.   I will make do.

23 thoughts on “Canon 7D Mk II and Tamron 150-600mm, another comparison

  1. Great review Bob. You said that you send it back to tamron for the firmware update. how did the lens act after the update?

    i have this combo myself en i’m kind of struggling for sharp result all the time. Don’t understand me wrong i get sharp ones but lets say 60% is a little off.

    Sorry for the bad english btw
    Thanks in advance

    • Thanks, Dries. Welcome to my blog. I am surprised about your focusing problem. I am always getting tack sharp images. All of my friends and some other fellow bloggers are getting excellent results. I don’t know what to tell you, but use fast shutter speeds when hand-holding. If slow shutter speeds needed, make sure you have a firm place to put the camera like a tripod, bean-bag works good on car window sills. Perhaps your camera need checking out, too.

      As for the update to the firmware, no problems whatsoever. Excellent results. Check out my recent blog posts. I have great sharp images there.

      • Thanks for the fast reply! I’m practicing myself in my garden on song birds on a tripod. Somethimes with succes but nust if the time they are not that sharp.

        I’ll keep practicing 😉

    • No, I had sold my old 7D a long time ago. I had two 70Ds after that. It worked well with the 70D, but with the 7D Mark II it is excellent. By the way, the Mark II is leaps and bounds better than the old 7D. Thanks for commenting.

      • Your encouragement means so much to me! I am coming along slower than I would like and I seem to have a mental block of some sort about the more technical aspects, but I will keep plugging along until I finally get my lightbulb moment! 🙂

        • It is a large learning curve, Amy. I have been shooting, it seems like a hundred years, but it was just only about seven years ago that I finally got away from shooting in Program. I don’t think I ever shot in Auto, but Program seemed to do the trick for me. I certainly was able to sell a lot of my work. Then I discovered how much better control I have when I started shooting in Aperture Priority or Shutter Priority. If necessary I can shoot in manual, like I did when I was a beginner years ago, by why should I when I have great equipment that will do that work for me?

          Of course, this new camera of mine has even more options, but I still dance with the girl I brought. I will get into those new options when I have time to experiment more. 🙂

  2. Awesome job on a comparison! I am just upgrading from my old T2i to a 70D I will be receiving next week. Got a couple of nice portrait lenses, but have to live vicariously through you with the Tamron and 7D :). My biggest zoom is the 55-250mm, which I do love. However, leaves a lot to be desired when you need real close up! Looking forward to seeing more pics from it! Sheila

  3. Beautiful photos, and I really appreciate the commentary on the Tamron lens. I have been looking (online only so far) at the Nikon version to go with my D610. I’ll probably wait till after my next trip, as I wouldn’t be able to take it with me due to weight and size restrictions, but seeing photos like yours definitely moves me a step closer to making the purchase decision.

  4. Hello Bob, sounds and looks like you’ve come up with a great combination there. I’m really impressed with the sharpness of that lens and now you’re saying that the 7D II is producing this kind of sharpness with reduced noise? What could be a better set up than that? Although I must say that I’ve been admiring your images for over 7 years and it’s hard to accept that they could possibly get any better. Thanks for the critique and the images. Please keep em comin’.

    • Jim, this combination is simply amazing. Actually, I believe that the 7D Mark II, is worlds better than the original 7D. But I think the Tamron 150-600 seems to work better with it, too. Thanks for commenting. Always nice to hear from you.

  5. Thanks for the information and photos to compare Bob. I have been trying to save for a Canon 500mm. Maybe I can skip that judging by your photos with this new 7d Tamron combo. Keep the great shots coming. 🙂

    • I can only say that it has given me amazing results. It sure is a lot less expense than what they are now asking for the 500mm. I paid 7,000 for mine about eight years ago. Now these new ones are about 10,000. Thanks for folowing me along, Alison. 🙂

  6. That combo would more than suit my purposes. A lot has been said about zoom versus non-zoom lenses. On thing I do like about using a zoom is the ease of target acquisition, first finding the object at partial zoom and then zooming in. Great for smaller more active birds.

    • You are right on all counts. I sold my big Canon 500mm because I had heard so much about this Tamron lens. My images, in my opinion, are as good as then. Much more mobile.

Leave a Reply

