A little nonsense, and some neat photos.


It has been exactly a week since my last post.  Birding hasn’t been too exciting those seven days, mostly seeing the usual resident birds around.  I did get some nice photos to show you, but I will get to them in a moment.  Stay with me here.

First, I decided to prowl my archives to see what little surprises I might find.  How about a little humor to start the week.  These two photos are several years old.  I have already posted them on FaceBook but I know a lot of you readers haven’t seen them yet.

"Safe!! He slid in under the tag!"

“Safe!! He slid in under the tag!”

That caption speaks for itself.

Dueling snowplows.

Now that I have you in a good mood, here are some photos from the past week, all taken around the local parks here in San Angelo.  We started out at Spring Creek Park.  That is where I and Ann spotted this Osprey.  About 300 yards away across the river and into the woods.

Osprey

Osprey

This Great Blue Heron was across the river, too, but only about 250 yards away.

Greata Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

These Yellow-rumped Warblers are scrambling around on the ground, making for an easier photograph.

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumped Warbler

This Eastern Phoebe is my favorite of the bunch.  He posed for me in several spots.

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Titmice are one of the most difficult for me to photograph, they are so quick and flighty.  This one hesitated for a few extra seconds making it easy for me to get the shot.

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

This Great Egret came flying down the river.  I quickly just aimed the camera and got lucky to lock the focus.  I rattled off a few shots and this was the last one as he was almost out of sight.

Great Egret

Great Egret

Another little bird that is hard to photograph, is the Dark-eyed Junco.

Dark-eyed Junco

Dark-eyed Junco

We’re in a deep-freeze here with light freezing rain, today so I won’t be getting out for a day or two, when the sun might shine again.  Fortunately, the cold doesn’t last long here.  I hope you enjoyed the photos.  I hope to write another post by the end of the week.

19 thoughts on “A little nonsense, and some neat photos.

    • Thanks, Jo. I forget that I have many international readers and not all understand baseball terms. By the way, that is the way an umpire looks when he is calling a close play safe.

  1. Wonderful! I especially liked the Titmouse. Your humor always gives me a reason to smile! The look on that bird’s (is it a blue bird?) face! LOL Hope you aren’t having too much ice down there. Be safe!

    • Thanks, Amy. It is one of my best shots of a Titmouse. I some times have wierd humor. I is a Northern Mockingbird. It is just cold right now. No precipation. Warmer days are coming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

