Is Spring here yet?


Over the past few days Ann and I have made a few trips to the local parks to check for incoming migrants.  It’s probably a little early but what the heck, it keeps us off the couch.  Having said that, though, we saw our first of the year American Robin.  Is that a harbinger of spring or what?

American Robin

American Robin

This bird isn’t the one we saw yesterday as I failed to get a decent shot.  This photo was taken last year.  But here are a few images that we did get during the past few days.

Greater White-fronted Goose

Greater White-fronted Goose

Getting the Greater White-fronted Goose was a nice find, and an addition to our 2015 Big Year list.  This goose is rare around here, not appearing every year.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Herons are in great supply as they are year-round residents.  This one was just strolling, perhaps trolling, but I didn’t see him make any move towards catching anything.

Great Horned Owl

Great Horned Owl

Now this Great Horned Owl was wide awake.  Check out those eyes.  He was eye-balling everyone that came along, including me, but he didn’t mine me taking a few photographs.

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

The Northern Cardinal, eyed me up and down, then gave me a nice Howdy-do as I went by.

Eared Grebe

Eared Grebe

An Eared Grebe enjoyed himself swimming along.  This was only the second sighting of one this winter…….or is it spring?

Osprey

Osprey

The Osprey, one of my favorite raptors didn’t look like he was doing any hunting.  Perched about 20 feet above the water he was content to just stare off into the distance.

The following two images are of a Double-crested Cormorant.  This is the first time that I ever saw the two crests that the the bird is named for.  They are only visible during spring months, then not always.

Double-crested Cormorant

Double-crested Cormorant

Double-crested Cormorant

Double-crested Cormorant

So that is all for today.  I will be hunting again the next few days and I wonder what that will bring.  Click on any of these images to see some nice enlargements.

14 thoughts on “Is Spring here yet?

  1. We saw a robin while walking the dogs the other evening! Along with the finally melting snow, it made us believe that spring really is arriving!! I’m astonished at all the owls you get to see/photograph! I think they are such amazing, fabulous birds! I heard one the other night while we were getting ready for bed, but it was too cold to go out in my pajamas and try to spot it. It was a full moon and Mark figured it was on the utility pole over the farm field, so I probably could have seen it if I wasn’t such a wimp. LOL Love your shot of the greater white-fronted goose. So pretty!

    • Maybe you will get a chance to see that owl in the daylight. They are there somewhere. But you have to look hard, as they blend in. Glad you liked my photos. Hope to be getting some spring birds soon. 🙂

    • Actually, they are year around in most of the country. Here, we are at the edge of their winter range and their year-round range, so we don’t have them in San Angelo in great numbers. It seems that people traditionally say the seeing the first robin of the year is a sign of spring. Of course, if they are there year around, that doesn’t make sense, does it? Very confusing. Arrrgh, I give up. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jerry. Yes, you are speaking of my old home town of Muskegon, Michigan. Very old, as I have lived here in San Angelo, Texas since 1961. But I remember ya’ll’s winters and I am glad to be here. But for my few relatives that live there, (and afraid to venture down here), I say I hope you have a pleasant summer.

Leave a Reply

