Nighthawk and a Roadrunner


102° today, the eleventh day of 100° or hotter.  The average here in San Angelo is 18 days per year of 100° days.  The record was in 2011 when we had 100, yes, that’s right, 100 days of 100° or more.  I hope we don’t break that record.

Anyway, we can’t stay in forever.  We do venture out sometimes earlier in the day, which was the case today.  We decided to take a drive through San Angelo State Park.  We saw the usual summer residents of sparrows, mockingbirds, etc.  Also, several quail scurrying through the deep grassy areas.  Of course, I was on the eye out for photo ops.

Driving out to the Isabel Harte section of the park, we spotted this Common Nighthawk.  On top of that, as I was taking this photo, Ann spotted another one on another tree branch about 20 yards away.  Of course, it flew before I had a chance at it.  I am always amazed at the camouflage of these birds.  It is so easy to miss them.

Common Nighthawk

Common Nighthawk

There wasn’t too much action after that.  The temp started climbing and most of the small birds that we saw, were looking stressed.  But as we decided to leave we spotted this Great Roadrunner in a tree.  It had just given chase, unsuccessfuly, to a Cactus Wren.  While it was resting and catching it’s wind from that, I was able to get this photo.

Greater Roadrunner

Greater Roadrunner

So that is it for this post.  I’ll probably try to make to the local city parks sometime during the upcoming week.  We’ll see what has been happening there.

Of course, it behooves me to also give you this update:

My new “World of Bob Zeller – Outdoor Photographer” DVDs are here. Outstanding collection with great sound track. 100 of my best images; birds, landscapes, and others.   Better than my book. Produced by DSTappan Productions of Knoxville, Tennessee. Price is 25.00 that includes Texas tax and shipping. Local residents only 20.00 if I can deliver it to you. I do business the old-fashioned way, just a handshake. You mail me a check to: Bob Zeller, 4401 White Ash Ln., San Angelo, TX 76904-4528, and I will get one shipped to you. Also, my phone is 325-944-1839 or e-mail me at bobzeller@pobox.com.  I have many references if you need.

It has gotten great reviews from the people that have purchased them.  If you purchase one and don’t like it, (highly unlikely, I think), I will return your money.

Thank you and happy birding!!

8 thoughts on “Nighthawk and a Roadrunner

  1. Those nighthawks really are well camouflaged! We see them in the evenings sometimes, flying, I would love to see one perched. It is unusual to see a roadrunner in a tree?

    We loved the DVD! Great job all around! I sure hope your temps drop soon. We were in the high 80’s for a week and that was bad enough for me! I can’t even imagine 100 days of 100 degrees! :O

    • Yes, those nighthawks are really camouflaged. Very difficult to see. No we see roadrunners in trees all the time here. They don’t fly, but they can climb quickly using their wings to make short flights between branches.

      I’m glad you like the DVD. We have had about 14 days now of 100 or more and it looks like another week of the same. 103 today. But with our low humidity, it is more tolerable than if we had your humidity.

  2. Lovely pic of the nighthawk, Bob! Do you ever hear them calling? Wonder if they are similar to nightjars that we have here. Hope your heatwave ends soon and you can get a bit cooler!

    • Thanks, Jo. Yes, we hear them calling quite often. Probably the same as yours, as ours are called nightjars, too. I hope there is an end soon to the high temps, too.

Leave a Reply

