Got my Windows 7….. Happy, happy


We had to return early from our Fort Davis trip.  A few medical problems, but nothing to worry about.  We’re both 100% healthy, but unfortunately I did not get great opportunities for photographs.  The great news is that my computer was ready from the shop with Windows 7 installed.  It is like getting a new computer.  I finished installing the pertinent software that I use for photo editing, etc, and I am ready to go.

In the past few days, we managed to get out to the local parks and obtained some images for you.  These are a few of the best.

This cute little Common Nighthawk was perched in plain view, although we almost missed him because he blended in so well.

Common Nighthawk

Common Nighthawk

I had a problem with this photo.  Initially I thought it was a Vesper Sparrow, which if it was, it would have been here way too early.  I posted it on FaceBook for opinions, and after much discussion, it was finally concluded that it is a Cassin’s Sparrow.

Cassin's Sparrow

Cassin’s Sparrow

When we drove out to Spring Creek Park we were fortunate to see this pair of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks with about eight little ducklings in tow.  What a cute family.  They were pretty far away so it was difficult to actually how many little ones there were.

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks with brood.

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks with brood.

Last, but now least, is the photo of a female Ladder-backed Woodpecker.  I think this my best to date of this species female.

female Ladder-backed Woodpecker

female Ladder-backed Woodpecker

I hope you enjoyed these images.  Now that temps are starting to cool a little bit, and with the upcoming migration season I hope to get many more.

A side note:  My 2016 calendars arrived, and I still have my beautiful DVDs.  If interested in either of them, mail a check for 25.00 to me at Bob Zeller, 4401 White Ash Ln, San Angelo, TX,  76904-4528.  I will send either of them by Priority Mail to you.  Also you may contact me at bobzeller@pobox.com.

Happy shooting, and Happy Birding. 🙂

 

12 thoughts on “Got my Windows 7….. Happy, happy

  1. Oh happy day! New computer for you, cooler weather for all, wonderful photos for us! That little Nighthawk is indeed a cutie! And the ducks, how special are they! In fact, all these photos are so enjoyable and I know you are pleased with them. Enjoy your new POWER! hugs

    • Thanks, Doc and CJ. 🙂 I agree with you 100%. A bad day birding is better than a great day at work. 🙂 We’ll be heading back to the Big Bend around the 1st of October to celebrate my 81st so more opportunities will come.

      • We’ll have to get together someday soon, we’re not far from you. I’ll never remember your birthday (nor even my own) so I’ll say it now and look forward to seeing your shots.

        Happy Birthday Bob!
        Doc’ & CJ

Leave a Reply

