Happy 6th Anniversary Texas Tweeties!!!


I just realized that this Texas Tweeties blog is six years old today.  My, oh, my, how time flies. This is my 860th post.  I must ask myself, how in heck did I come up with something to write about 860 times?  It all started when my dear friend, Deb Tappan, up there in Knoxville, Tennessee told me that I should write a blog.  And, of course, my wife, Ann, chimed in and said, “Do it, do it!”  Well, I couldn’t very well turn down my two best friends, could I?

Me and my two best friends, my wife, Ann and Deb.

Me and my two best friends, my wife, Ann and Deb. (photo by Paul Tappan.)

I wanted a catchy name that would connect with the birds and birders.  Deb came up with name Texas Tweeties.  At first, I thought people would confuse that with Twitter.  But that hasn’t been the case.  For the record, I don’t Twitter.  I might tweek, squeak, whistle, burp and make other funny noises, but I don’t Twitter.

So I jumped in and got my writing juices flowing.  I don’t remember what my first post was about, but I thought afterwards, heck, this ain’t so hard.  This is from a guy that for many, many years, I was such an introvert that my worst fear was that someone would ask me to say grace before a dinner occasion. 🙂

Anyway, 6 years, 860 posts.  As of this date, I have been read by 181,394 people in 161 countries, and I only write in one language.  There must be a heck of a lot of bi-linguals out there.

But I am having a bunch of fun doing this.  Of course, the blog is about photography, too, but my wildlife and birding pursuits go hand in hand with it.  I also, have been know to go off on a tangent and rant about some other thing, but as most of you know I stick to birding most of the time.

That being said, I must say that my friend Deb was the cause of me getting into bird photography.  Ann and I were visiting her home.  Outside her living room window was a large cedar tree of some type and all of these colorful birds were hanging around it and under it.  Deb encouraged me to open the window and take some shots with my camera.  Wow!  I was stunned with all of those colorful species.

Up to then, my bird vocabulary was ducks, pigeons, or sparrows.  My major photography interest was flowers and landscapes.  Well, my world changed after that visit.  I started photographing birds as often as possible.  Then, I needed to be able to know what I was photographing, and voila!!, another friend got Ann and I into the birding hobby.  You know, learning to identify them.  Holy Mackeral!!  I found that there are in the vicinity of 914 species of birds in North America, nearly 649 of them found in Texas alone, and 383 recorded sightings here in Tom Green County where I live.  So far, I have learned to identify ony 283 species.  I don’t have and accurate figure on how many of them I have photographed but probably near that last number.

Anyway, I am getting away from the purpose of this post and that is to celebrate another Texas Tweeties birthday.   I appreciate all of my readers, from near and abroad, for staying with me and continuing to hopefully, enjoy my meanderings, my strange jokes and my photographs.

Let’s try for another year. Happy Birding to all!!

29 thoughts on “Happy 6th Anniversary Texas Tweeties!!!

  1. Happy Anniversary!! I count you among one of my best blogging friends and I am so thankful for your talent and your patience in teaching this rube a few things! You are the best, Bob!! May you have many more years of birding and photography ahead of you!

  2. Congratulations, Bob! How did you mange to deal with your post space limitations? Did you delete older posts and photos or upgrade? I am continuing one with smaller or less photos and deleting old posts because I reached my limit about a week ago.

    • Thanks, Jane. You posed an interesting question. I have only used 44% of my allotted space. Do you re-size your photos to a smaller resolution. I post mine at 720pp wide on the longer side at 72 ppi. Sure saves a lot of space. I have never needed to delete and I haven’t upgraded.

  3. Congratulations Mr. Zeller, I have enjoyed reading your post and hope to continue reading them for many more years. Great entertainment.

  4. i have never known you to be anything but outgoing, engaging and punny!! So happy I have gotten to be part of history…your history! hugs

  5. Congratulations, Bob! 🙂 This made me laugh. Lovely to hear how you got into blogging and birdwatching! Very glad I came across your blog – must be about 4 or 5 years ago now! 🙂

  6. Your blogs are a delight and bring so much joy to everyone. your wit and charming remarks enhance your fabulous photos and I always come away with a smile on my face. I am so grateful for you sharing with all of us. Kudos to you!!

    • Well, we retired here because we feel San Angelo is the best choice. Small town feel, although we are a city of 100,000. Low humidity, sunshine most of the year, two great medical centers, great parks including a river that runs through town. There are thousands of retirees here just like you and me. Wouldn’t trade it for anywhere else. Come visit and we’ll show you around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

