Scissor-tailed Flycatcher


Ann and I were out near Spring Creek this morning.  We were greeted with hundreds, it seemed, of Scissor-tailed Flycatchers.  I wasn’t really interested in photographing very many, because as you know, you seen one Scissor-tailed Flycatcher, you’ve seen them all.  They all look the same.  But this one, I couldn’t resist.  Actually, he was quite far away, about 100 yards, but I liked the old mesquite branch he was perched on.  Plus, a nice uncluttered background, which is an earthern dam another 200 yards farther away.

This was one of my very rare times that had to do absolutely nothing in post-processing, except for cropping for composition.  In, fact I will show you here the original and the cropped version.  Camera info:  Canon 7D Mk II, Tamron 150-600 lens, zoomed to the max at 600mm, 1/1000 sec. at f6.3, ISO 125.  Aperture priority and spot metering.  Hand-held with camera resting on window of driver’s side.

original Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

original Scissor-tailed Flycatcher, at 600mm.

 

cropped Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

cropped Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

As I said, it is not very often that I do not have to do a little bit of post-processing, adjusting light, color, or sharpening.  I wish all of my photographs were this easy.  But the light was perfect and the bird sat still.  I hope you enjoyed it. (Click any image to see enlargement.)

Happy Birding!!

12 thoughts on “Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

  1. OK Bob, one can never have too many photos of the lovely Scissor-tailed Flycatcher. If you had passed on this one to rest on your deserve laurels for the WOW moment one, that little touch of color on the top of the wing would never be known! Way to go with the ease of this excellent photo. You ARE the man! hugs

    • Thanks so much, Beth. And I understand that you are the ‘woman’. What’s this I hear about you being homecoming queen. I hadn’t heard anything about, except a pic that I saw on FB. 🙂

      • Yes, Bob, I was coming home queen this year. It was lots of fun and my kids, grand daughters and mother got to be there along with my sister and brother and great nephew. AND I got a crown and some beautiful white roses. Thanks for the mention. hugs

Leave a Reply

