Closing out a great October


October was a successful month for me.  I sold some more prints at the Fort Davis Gallery, added some birds to my 2015 list and got some nice photographs for this blog. Actually, it has been ten days since my last post.  Longer than I usually would like.  But minor health delays, a sinus infection, kept me side-lined for a few days.

So hoping for a nice November, I will show you photos from our latest October forays into San Angelo State Park.

First up is a little Vesper Sparrow.  Sparrows have been my personal nemesis when it it comes to identification.  There are dozens of sparrow species.  The Vesper has that distinctive eye-ring that is a big help, although there others that have some type of an eye-ring, too.

Vesper Sparrow

Vesper Sparrow

Then there are the White-crowned Sparrows.  To make things more difficult this one pictured is a sub-species, oriantha, that is identified with that black supraloral area, that goes through the eye and seemingly across the front of the beak.  Not rare, but uncommon around here.

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

The Northern Mockingbirds are everywhere and they act like they own the state.  In fact, they are the state bird of Texas and I guess they are rightfully proud.

Northern Mockingbird

Northern Mockingbird

I didn’t notice the fish line tangled around the leg of this Herring Gull, until I enlarged it in my darkroom computer.  It was strolling as I photographed it, so I am assuming that got along okay.

Herring Gull

Herring Gull

The Western Meadowlark was all alone, just perusing the landscape.

Western Meadowlark

Western Meadowlark

Along the way, this young White-tailed Deer stepped out of the mesquite and gave us a look over.

White-tailed Deer

White-tailed Deer

This Northern Bobwhite was all alone, too.  Maybe wondering where the rest of the covey was.  I took a few photos then left him undisturbed.

Northern Bobwhite

Northern Bobwhite

The female Northern Flicker was in a tree with the morning light shining on her.

Northern Flicker

Northern Flicker

A Song Sparrow swaying in some weeds of some kind.

Song Sparrow

Song Sparrow

Some people say that they never have seen a Greater Roadrunner in a tree.  They need to follow me around.  I see them quite frequently, some quite high off the ground.  They don’t actually fly per se, but a combination of climbing and wing-flapping.

Greater Roadrunner

Greater Roadrunner

I hope you enjoy following me in my journeys into the world of nature.  Click on any photo to see an enlargement.

Until the next time, Happy Birding!!

 

13 thoughts on “Closing out a great October

  1. I enjoyed perusing your images, Bob.I knew I was serious about birding when I started to study sparrows and learning the difference between the species. But sub-species? Not that far along.Stay well and happy shooting!

    • Thanks, Jane. Identifying sparrows is my nemesis. I only found about that sub-species when I noticed a difference in the appearance of that White-crowned Sparrow. I really don’t understand a lot of about subs-species.

  2. Bob, Can you pack up a dozen or so Roadrunners and send them to me? We don’t have them here and I love those guys. Wish I had some to photograph!

  3. Know you have been out and about and glad you are feeling better now.
    lovely photos and all seem kinda laid back-fall does that!! hugs

Leave a Reply

