Pre-Leap Year Birding


Ann and I have been able to get out a bit the past three days, so I thought I’d get a post published by the end of the month, which normally would have been today the twenty-eighth, but will have to leap another day into the twenty-ninth.  Don’t you just love the way I come up with these titles to my posts.  Hey, it beats throwing darts at my dictionary.

Anyway, here are a group of fun photos from the past few days.  Mostly from around the parks at Lake Nasworthy, i.e. Middle Concho Park and Spring Creek Park.  Enjoy them and click on any photo to see enlargements.

First up is a Black-crowned Night Heron at Spring Creek Park.  About 200 yards away across the water.

Black-crowned Night Heron

Black-crowned Night Heron

Another photo of two more Black-crowned Nigh Herons, at another nearby location.  In this one you can see a juvenile, with the nearly hidden adult to right center.

Black-crowned Night Herons. A Juvenile and an adult.

Black-crowned Night Herons. A Juvenile and an adult.

A Northern Shoveler glides along in the waterway near Spring Creek Park.

Northern Shoveler

Northern Shoveler

The masked bandit, a Loggerhead Shrike looking for trouble to get into.  Very feisty and vicious little birds, they love to capture there prey, and impale them on barbed wire or thorny plants.

Loggerhead Shrike

Loggerhead Shrike

Dark-eyed Juncos are very hard to photograph.  They are constantly on the move and don’t sit very long on any spot.  I got lucky when this one sat long enough on a wire fence to get a good image.

Dark-eyed Junco

Dark-eyed Junco

Eastern Phoebes are around in great numbers.  Easy to find, and relatively easy to photograph as they like to pose; at least for me.  Maybe I have a way with birds.  Maybe I am the Bird-Whisperer.

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Chipping Sparrow.  I don’t know how they got that name.  Maybe somebody just threw darts at a dictionary.

Chipping Sparrow

Chipping Sparrow

Ruby-crowned Kinglet.  One of my all time favorites of the tiny birds.  Sometimes the male displays a little red crown.  Sometimes the male decides not to show the little red crown.  But great fun trying to get a photograph.  They really move fast and quickly.  By the time I get the camera aimed at the spot he is/was in, he is in another.  But with patience I do get lucky, and I did in this photo.

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Well, that’s it for this post.  I hope you enjoyed the photos.  As I said, click on any image and you will be rewarded with some nice enlargements.

6 thoughts on “Pre-Leap Year Birding

  1. As usual your acrobatic use of words entertains! I can just see that poor Webster’s…full of tiny pointy holes! And, yes, you are a bird whisper and a photo wizard. Enjoyed all these offerings; the night herons have such a stern stare, very determined! hugs

    • Thank you, Kelly. Co-incidentally, I just visited your post. I enjoyed it very much and I am glad that I subscribe to it. My best favorites to photograph are the raptors, but I love going after the tiny birds and the kinglet is my favorite of those.

Leave a Reply

