Ruby-crowned Kinglet and friends


I am waiting for the spring migration to begin, as are many birders.  It is that time of year when we start getting some new birds moving, either through, or arriving here for the summer.  We all need the excitement to forget about all of the winter doldrums.

Having said that, perhaps I am a bit over-anxious.  After all, this is still mid-March so it will be a couple of weeks or more until it gets exciting.  So, I just go out and look for excitement.  This time, it was in the form of three Ruby-crowned Kinglets that Ann and I spotted on Monday.  It is always fun trying to photograph these tiny birds.  Rarely sitting still, and flitting from one branch to a nearby twig or fence.  So, it was a a bonus when one of them starting to show it’s red crown.  I got several images, but it took me about seventy attempts and I came away with only about four usable photos.  Here are two of the best.

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

A few days earlier, we had received several thunderstorms so the local parks were pretty well saturated.  Not wanting to spend time driving through the mud, we opted to go to San Angelo State Park. We checked into the blind to see what was hanging out.  I really don’t like the blind when the sun is bright, as there is a problem with harsh shadows.  However, I figured it was better to get poor shots than no shots at all.  I was able to correct the light in the following photos.  Not too bad, after all.

Northern Bobwhite

Northern Bobwhite

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher

Pyrrhuloxia

Pyrrhuloxia

This photo of the Fox Sparrow is not up to my standards, with the grass being a distraction, but this was the first time I ever had the opportunity to photograph one.  It is uncommon here, and was only visible for a few short minutes.

Fox Sparrow

Fox Sparrow

We left the blind for a quick drive around the area.  Pickin’s were a little slim.  I guess the birds had not fully recovered from the storms.  We did come across this pretty Black-throated Sparrow.

Black-throated Sparrow

Black-throated Sparrow

I got lucky with catching this Yellow-rumped Warbler on the wing.

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumped Warbler

That ended our day at San Angelo State Park.  I hope to get back out in the next few days and have better hunting.  Until then, Happy Birding!!

11 thoughts on “Ruby-crowned Kinglet and friends

  1. Those are incredibly great captures of the Kinglet. I new the had the red plumage on top but have never seen it fully displayed. Irmgard and I are here in McAllen, enjoying my kids and granddaughter. We spent all of yesterday at Bentsen Rio Grande Valley Wildlife Refuge. What a treasure of some beautiful birds. I will share some of them them with you when we get back.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Great pics and post. I loved your kinglet photos. I know what you mean about taking 1000 photos for 1 good one lol! I will be posting kinglet photos next time I write on my blog.

    I’m jealous of the fox sparrow. Someday I will see one. Was a good birding day for you.

Leave a Reply

