Still Alive and Kicking


After three weeks I am finally back to blogging again.  I spent a week in the hospital, then another week treating myself at home with anti-biotics.  After that several days of rest and recuperating.  Needless to say, we had to cancel our trip to the Big Bend area.  That will have to wait until sometime in the fall.

Ann and I finally got out over the weekend and managed to get some birding and photography in.  On Memorial Day, we spent several hours at San Angelo State Park.  During that visit, we met some very nice folks from Missouri.  Joe and Sara St. Clair were in town visiting their son, Greg, who is a student at nearby Goodfellow AFB.  I think we have found a couple of new friends there.  Heck, they like my photography so that clinches it. 🙂

Blue Jay

Blue Jay

On Tuesday, May 31, two friends from Dallas, Kellye Mixon Bussey and Robin Buchanon arrived and wanted Ann and I to show them the local birding hot spots.  That was a busy long day, but much fun, and Kellye and Robin treated Ann and I to lunch at Olive Garden.

During the past few days, I did get several new photos to show you.  The image of the Blue Jay above, was taken on June 1, a couple of hours before my follow-up appointment with my doctor.  Since we had to go downtown for that, we went a bit early so we could drive along the Concho River.  That is where we saw several Blue Jays on the ground.  In all of my years of birding, up until now, I had never gotten a nice photo of one of these beautiful birds.  I am much satisfied with this one.  By the way, click on any image, especially if you are viewing this on a computer.  You will see beautiful enlargements.

The Bullock’s Orioles have arrived in great numbers now and can be found almost anywhere in the area.

Bullock's Oriole

Bullock’s Oriole

We found this lone Scaled Quail wandering near the Twin Buttes Reservoir.

Scaled Quail

Scaled Quail

I don’t think the branch is too much of a distraction in this photo of a Northern Cardinal, although he seems to think he is hiding behind it.

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

We ventured out where there had been an owl’s nest.  The nest was empty, but we located this young Great Horned Owl in a nearby tree.

you Great Horned Owl

young Great Horned Owl

This Bronzed Cowbird was strutting nearby.

Bronzed Cowbird

Bronzed Cowbird

The Scissor-tailed Flycatcher is another bird that is in great abundance now.

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

I love the ferocious look of the Curve-billed Thrasher.

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher

These images were probably the best of the bunch from the past few days.  I am still a bit slow getting around, but hope to get out more in days to come, and hopefuly I will be posting more often now.  Thanks to all of you readers for being patient with me.  If you are a new reader, click on “Sign Me Up”, on the right side of this page.  You will receive and e-mail whenever I publish a new post.

36 thoughts on “Still Alive and Kicking

  1. It was wonderful to meet you and your wife! Thank you so much for the calendar. Many blessings to you and we look forward to reading your blog and seein your beautiful photography!

  2. Well, darn. Hate that you had to spend more time in the hospital and then just sitting around healing. But you have NOT lost that magic colorful touch, you bird whisperer you!! Beautiful colors in all these birds. Thanks for sharing these photos. Be well and stay dry – hugs

  3. I’m glad that you are back in the saddle & on the road to feeling better. Margaret & I will never forget the day you took us under your wing, introducing us birding photography. We need to get together again.

  4. Glad to hear you’re on the mend, Bob, and sounds like you’re getting some great birding as well. That flycatcher pic is amazing. Love the pose, the lighting, and the background.

  5. “Funny” that I should see this post in my e-mail today, as I have been thinking of you a lot lately. I haven’t seen you on Facebook and worried that you might be ill. So sorry to hear of your stay in the hospital, but so glad to hear you are on the mend and feeling better. Your photos are amazing, as always! Rest up and I look forward to seeing more great photos soon. Are you staying dry where you are? It’s awful to see the terrible flooding there in Texas. Take care, Bob!

  6. Whew! I’m glad to see you blogging again as I was worried about you but glad to see you on the mend. I’m sure you enjoyed the magnificent rains we have been getting. It is great seeing green landscapes and happy wildlife. Your beautiful photos are proof you are getting well. Thanks, Bob..

    • Thanks, Rick. Yeah, I am happy to be out and about, too. I was using my cane around the house for awhile, but okay now. Great rains, but would like to see more on the watershed, but they will come sooner or later. Great to hear from you.

  7. Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather. Glad you are back birding & posting your great bird shots. Always look forward to them. Thank you.

  8. Bob

    Sorry to hear that u were sick but we’re glad to know yr better. Mike Richardson and I think of u often since yr visit to Roswell. I follow yr blog and always enjoy your bird post. I went to Big Bend last year in the spring on a quest to find the ,Colima warbler. We climbed the mountain but never found it. I was so disappointed It took a huge amount of energy. Not sure I could do it again. I always remember yr saying u saw it in the parking lot one year on early spring😷 Sent from my iPhone Steve Smith

    >

Leave a Reply

