August birding in Uvalde


Ann and I decided to take off for a couple of days and visit friends down in Uvalde.  We left Wednesday morning for the three hour drive.  We arrived at our friends, Bob and Marianne Shackleford, about noon, just in time for lunch.  Bob has fixed a water feature in his yard and has had many birds arriving to partake of the wet stuff and a free meal of birdseed.

Although, Bob complained that the birding was ‘slow’, Ann and I were very pleased that we were able to see some birds that we don’t usually see in San Angelo, and add six more to our 2016 list: Ruby-throated Hummingbird, Crested Caracara, Harris’s Hawk, Green Jay, Great Kiskadee, and a Roseate-Spoonbill.

About that Roseate Spoonbill, it is a very rare bird to show up in Uvalde.  I was fortunate to spot it in a pond about 75 yards off the highway.  We all had a good look at.  It was among some sparse shrubs of some type along the water.  I couldn’t get a decent photo from where we were parked, so I got out of the car and tried to quietly make my way closer.  But I was impeded by deep weeds that hid about 8 inches of water.  I accidently spooked a Great Blue Heron that was nearby, and it in turn, spooked the spoonbill.  So, unfortunately, no photograph.

I also missed a photo of the Great Kiskadee.  I was sitting in the Shackleford’s front yard.  As it came in, I was in the process of putting a new battery in my camera, and I didn’t get it turned back on in time.  The kiskadee was there for only a brief few seconds.

Here are some photos.  There are more, but I haven’t had time to get them all edited.  Click on any of these to see some nice enlargements.

Hariss's Hawk

Harris’s Hawk

Crested Caracaras

Crested Caracaras

Ruby-throated Hummingbird

Ruby-throated Hummingbird

Green Jay

Green Jay

Here is a photograph of a Great Kiskadee from a previous trip to Uvalde.  Not a great photo, as it was taken from a greater distance, but I think you will like it.

Great Kiskadee

Great Kiskadee

Also after digging through my archives, I found this photo of a Roseate Spoonbill.  It and two others spent about three days here in San Angelo back in 2010.  I photographed it at O. C. Fisher Reservoir.

Roseate Spoonbill

Roseate Spoonbill

Before I forget, I wish to thank Bob and Marianne Shackleford for their generous hospitality.  We stayed at a nearby Hampton Inn, but the Shackleford’s insisted we dine with them for several meals.  As we say here, they fixed us up with some very nice vittles.

I hope you enjoyed this post, and as always, prints are available of all of the photos in this post or a previous post.  A further note, my 2017 calendars are in.  They will go fast, so contact me if you are interested.

Happy Birding!!

.

8 thoughts on “August birding in Uvalde

  1. Can’t imagine the world without the gorgeous birds! That’s why they say ‘shoot birds and animals but only with cameras’! Even I just posted some lovely pics from my birding trip to the Nilgiris, which you’ll surely like! 🙂

    • Thank you for such an beautiful insightful comment, Astha. Also thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you will return. I will check out your pics from your Nilgiris. 🙂

  2. Great post as always. You got to see some really cool birds! I visit San Antonio at least once a year and lived in Corpus Christi for 12 years and I never saw a Crested Caracara. Someday! I traveling soon to northern Utah and Nevada and I hope to see some different birds on that trip.

Leave a Reply

