Seven years and still counting. A one, anna two, anna three……… :-)


Yesterday I celebrated my 7th anniversary of beginning this blog.  In those years I have accumulated 45,320 readers in 164 countries.  Together they have visited 205,231 times.  This will be my 926th post.  I still don’t know how I have been able to come up with that much subject matter.  I cheat by putting in a bunch of pictures to fill it up.  I also try to make catchy titles that get your attention.  But whatever works.  Anyway, I really appreciate my readers and fellow bloggers that make the job easier.

Migration has started and the fun has begun.  For example, yesterday Ann and I visited San Angelo State Park.  Up in the Isabelle Harte picnic area we spotted some activity in a group of live oak trees.  We had gotten up early, got a cup of coffee and a burrito to go at Jack N’ Jill Donut shop.  We took that with us, and when we spotted that forementioned activity in the trees, we decided that would be a great place to just watch and eat our little breakfast.

Well, we were kept busy as we spotted several birds and warblers in the trees, including Yellow Warblers, Wilson’s Warblers, Nashville Warblers, Least flycatchers and the highlight of the day, an American Redstart, which was a lifer.  Also we saw a Willow Flycatcher, another lifer. What a thrill!

This morning we returned to the same spot, with another burrito and coffee, hoping to catch some more new birds for the year.  We missed the American Redstart as I wanted to get some photos, but it was not present. I  failed at getting photos of it yesterday.  Try as I may, I could not get it into my viewfinder fast enough.  It kept flitting in and out of the leaves, teasing me.  Anyway to digress, we were not disappointed otherwise.  I got nice photos of a Great Crested Flycatcher.

Then just before we were leaving, a Peregrine Falcon flew overhead.  It was flying low and I suspected it was about to light somewhere near.  We drove out of the trees and about 100 yards away, it was sitting atop a picnic table shelter.  Surprisingly, I was able to drive up to about 25 feet away.  It was a juvenile bird and was still trusting humans.  I circled the shelter in the car at a distance, getting shots from different angles.  He just perched and watched me for around 15 minutes.

In other news, I came across three more photos from our Uvalde trip last month.  Here they are.

White-tailed Haek

White-tailed Hawk

Crested Caracara

Crested Caracara

Green Jay

Green Jay

The following are photos that I have gotten since my last post.  We have visited local San Angelo parks including Spring Creek Park, Middle Concho Park, and of course, San Angelo State Parks.

Bullock's Oriole - female

Bullock’s Oriole – female

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Northern Cardinal - female

Northern Cardinal – female

Canyon Towhee

Canyon Towhee

Great Crested Flycatcher

Great Crested Flycatcher

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon lifting off from perch.

Peregrine Falcon lifting off from perch.

That’s it for this post.  I still have more photos to go sort through and of course, I hope to get some more nice ones in days to come.  So stay tuned…….  It looks like many more burrito and coffee breakfasts to come. 🙂

I would like to mention to you to click on any image to see enlargements.  Also any photo you see on my posts are available as prints.  Contact me if you are interested.

14 thoughts on “Seven years and still counting. A one, anna two, anna three……… :-)

  1. Sounds like a great couple days of birding! Congrats on the Redstart – sorry no photographs. They breed up here in Canada so I see them a lot.

  2. Seven years! Wow, that is amazing. Thanks for all the info, photos, puns, clever titles, a terrific sense of humor and a cracker jack photographer all wrapped up in one outstanding guy I count as friend. You and Ann are a couple worth following! hugs

Leave a Reply

