Some Miscellaneous Stuff.


My wife just reminded me that I hadn’t posted for quite awhile.  After doing some extensive research, I found that she is correct.  It has been nearly a month.  I guess the dog days of summer got ahold of me.  One thing, though, and I think it is a plausible excuse.  I have some cancerous spots on the left side of my face that I am treating.  That involves smearing that Efudex chemical on my face for three weeks.  It is painful, itchy and downright distracting.  I quit that part of the treatment a couple of days ago, now I am using a soothing ointment to help with the healing.  Hopefully it should be cleared completely in another two to three weeks.

Because I am suppose do avoid the sun during the duration of the treatment, I haven’t been out too much.  But using a wide-brim hat, I did make a few short trips.

Some news items concerning San Angelo State Park.  It has pretty much recovered from the drastic storm that hit it about a month ago.  They are still trimming broken tree branches and doing general cleanup, but overall it looks pretty good.  A few days ago they replaced the busted fence around the bird blind, and repaired some other  damage to the building itself.

Here are a few images that I have gotten during those brief outings to the park.  Click on any one of them to see some nice enlargements.

Greater Roadrunner

Yellow-billed Cuckoo

Loggerhead Shrike

Common Nighthawk

Green Heron

Western Kingbird

Black-chinned Hummingbird

Loggerhead Shrike

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher – juvenile

The birds are returning to the blind, now that it is back to normal operation again.  The fall and winter birds should be returning very soon.

14 thoughts on “Some Miscellaneous Stuff.

  1. Welcome back to your blog and the great outdoors which is your passion. I’ve been enjoying your pics. I was in Norfolk, VA last weekend and saw a lone egret. It was shockingly beautiful. Your work must have been an inspiration to run back to my car to snap a pic with my lil Ipad but the noisy sound of dogs scared me away from taking the shot. Thank you for your diligence to showcasing nature. Please do take care to do “self care” with your skin.

  2. lots of pretty birds, it is funny about the green heron, I seldom see them (I am sure I see them flying over head and making a certain sound) seen one once on someones porch it was a juvinule, i approached the porch and it jumped over the railing ran to the neighbors patch of bushes and stood there watching us, it was almost comical. you know they always show roadrunners running on the ground it never occurred to me they go into trees too.

    • Many thank, Roberta. I loved your story. We have a world class water lily collection here in San Angelo, and every year they have a ‘LilyFest’ in September when the blossoms are at their peak. A couple of years ago at that event, three Green Herons stole the show when they were all over the lily pads looking for tiny prey.

    • Thank you so much, Jo. My face is starting to heal. It only hurts when I shave. LOL I love that hummingbird pic, too. It is one of my best yet of that specie,I think, but of course I am biased. 🙂

  3. Dear Mr. Zeller,

    Your images are spectacular! I appreciate the quality as I can drill down close enough to see the hair in their nostrils!

    I hope the skin cancer on your face continues to subside and you have many, many more years of successful birding.

    Best regards,

    Melanie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thanks very much, Melanie, for your very nice comment. It is so nice to hear from anothe reader. I am glad you are enjoying my photographs. I’ll try to be a little more regular now that I am feeling better.

Leave a Reply

