Weekend of the Merganzers


I am finishing up the year of 2013 with a few miscellaneous photos from the past weekend.  We hadn’t seen any of the merganzer species in several months.  Of course, we wouldn’t see them during the summer anyway, but it is later than usual, what with it being  just a couple of days away from the New Year Holiday.

Yesterday we ventured out to our usual haunts at the Middle Concho and Spring Creek parks.  Actually we have been seeing several birds lately, but what surprised us yesterday was that as I was taking a long look at a bunch of Northern Shovelers, I notice that one of them looked out of place.  Upon further review thru my long lens, I realized that it was a Common Merganzer swimming right along with the Shovelers, like he belonged to the family.

Common Merganzer

Common Merganzer

This morning, Monday, I had a check-up with my doctor, and on the way home we drove along the Concho River.  There we saw a couple of Hooded Merganzers.  I got out of the car and ventured down along the river bank and managed to get one decent shot.

Hooded Merganzer

Hooded Merganzer

Although the Merganzers were the highlight of the weekend, we did see some more of our favorites, the Great Blue Heron.  I have a hard time resisting photographing them when the opportunities arise.  This one was no exception and I took two while he was just spending time on a tree log.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Enjoy the photos, and click on any of them to see enlargements.  I wish everyone a happy and prosperous 2014.

22 thoughts on “Weekend of the Merganzers

  1. With the tree log and pleasant background, the GBH did a fine job posing for your shot, I hope you thanked him! 😉 Bob, I had a GBH this afternoon on my berm and like you, I couldn’t help but take a few more GBH pics, they are one beautiful, majestic bird to photograph! And a fave of us both! 🙂

    • Thanks, Dave, for all of your kind words. I am glad you enjoy my photos. Hope to have more for you in 2014. Happy New Year to you and your, too. Come see us!! 🙂

  2. Beautiful detail and colors on all these fine birds. I am thinking you should run a contest on the number of photos you have of your favorite gbh. Of course, that would involve actually counting them and that would be a mighty task! Thanks for sharing your wonderful work with us this year. Wishing you and Ann a happy and healthy 2014 with many chances to go birding. hugs

  3. pretty birdies. I see the hoodies everyonce in a while here. I see wood ducks all the time but cannot see them close up, htey are either in the trees bouncing around (or clawing around) or flying overhead, I recognize thier calls. but yet never seen one close up to see their beautiful colors.

  4. Great photos, Bob. The merganzers are very smart, and I love the herons – you’ve captured all the gorgeous detail in the plumage. They are truly magnificent birds. All the very best of health and happiness to you and Ann in 2014! I’m looking forward to seeing another wonderful selection of birds through your lens!

  5. LOVE the merganzers, Bob. Beautiful, you haven’t changed a bit. I miss reading your blog and blog hopping. One of my new years resolutions is to get back into blogging and reading my favorite blogs! Happy New Year Bob! 🙂 Sheila

    • Great! Hope you have a great trip and see lots of Texas birds. I and Ann are heading to the Big Bend area 300 miles to the southwest on Jan. 10-11-12 to celebrate her birthday that weekend. Happy New Year, to you, too. 🙂

Leave a comment