The Day it Finally Rained……….


I stole that title from a head-line in our local newspaper, the San Angelo Standard-Times.

Last night we finally had some thundestorms come dancing through. The weather bureau at the airport recorded .47 inch.  Nearly a half an inch.  Not much, and only a teaser, but we take what we can get.  We now have a total of 3.41 inches for the year.

Here is a recent picture of a Golden-fronted Woodpecker that I thought you may enjoy.  It is one my favorite woodpeckers, because it is so photogenic.  Click image to see an enlargement.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/400 sec. @ f7.1
  • ISO 800
  • Lens focal distance  700mm
  • Metering – center weighted
  • Aperture priority
15 thoughts on “The Day it Finally Rained……….

  1. Yay for rain!! Fall is approaching, hopefully temperatures will start to become a little more comfortable soon. That certainly is a gorgeous woodpecker – love the splashes of color on his head!

  2. So glad to hear you finally got some rain. I can barely imagine what that must be like, although I’m thinking of the time I spent in the northern deserts of Australia – barely bearable!

    Gorgeous crystal clear shot here. Love the colour.

  3. Love that bird…wild colors and you are so right..really photogenic. Glad you got some rain..we had a little light shower last evening too…take care..

  4. Your bird photos are wonderful Bob. The sharp focus is gorgeous (and I must say I find myself just a wee bit jealous of your equipment list!) This looks like a woodpecker that I found at my suet feeder most of this past winter except it was red in the spots where yours are gold.

Leave a Reply

