Greater Roadrunner, Orioles and others


Here are a few images that I have gotten since we got back from our Big Bend adventure.  We have been watching for new summer residents of the avian variety.  While doing such searching I was able to get a few other images for your enjoyment.  We found this Greater Roadrunner at San Angelo State Park.

Greater Roadrunner

Greater Roadrunner

The Bullock’s Orioles are starting to arrive.  I had seen a female a few weeks earlier, but now there are many of the bright colored males.  They are still hard to photograph among the trees but nevertheless, I managed a couple.

Bullock's Oriole

Bullock’s Oriole

Bullock's Oriole

Bullock’s Oriole

I love the Golden-fronted Woodpeckers.  They seem to be everywhere all the time and they are so photogenic.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Same bird, different pose.  He was trying to show me his better side.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

A Lincoln’s Sparrow.

Lincoln's Sparrow

Lincoln’s Sparrow

A couple of Lark Sparrows.

Lark Sparrow

Lark Sparrow

Lark Sparrow

Lark Sparrow

The Scissor-tailed Flycatchers are arriving in large numbers and they will be seen soon all over the country-side.  I got a couple of images today.

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Last, but not least, a Killdeer playing in the water at a mudhole near Twin Buttes Reservoir.

Killdeer

Killdeer

Enjoy the photos and I will be back soon with a few more.

16 thoughts on “Greater Roadrunner, Orioles and others

  1. Stunning photographs! We appreciate being able to vicariously share your many photographic adventures. Thank you for sharing. Ernie Charlesworth

  2. Wonderful photos Bob. I never realized that the Roadrunner was so colorful. The beautiful details really pop in your image. It is on my bucket list to see one now. We have not seen Bullocks this far north yet. Thanks for the preview. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Alison. The Roadrunner’s feathers have an irridenscent look part of the time, bringing out different colors. The Bullocks just arrived here a few days ago. 🙂

  3. It must be such fun seeing roadrunners on a regular basis! I never noticed their blue “eye makeup” until now. The golden-fronted woodpecker reminds me of the red-bellied we see so often here. They are such great photography subjects and cooperate so much better than most birds! 😀 Wow, your photos really show how impressive the tail is on those scissor-tailed flycatchers! I enjoyed all these photos very much, Bob!!

    • Those Roadrunners are funny guys, and to me, the Golden-fronted Woodpeckers are one of the most photogenic birds that we have. Glad you enjoyed the photos, Amy.

Leave a comment