Happy Labor Day Week-end


Here it is Sunday morning, September 4, 2011.  That means that tomorrow is the first Monday of September and therefore it will be Labor Day.  The annual holiday that separates the warm days of summer and the beginning of the cooler fall days.

Of course, it doesn’t always happen that way, but thankfully, that is the way it is this year in west Texas, particularly here in San Angelo.  After a very scorching summer, June, July, August, with a record 93 days of 100+ degree days.  The old record was 60 days set back in 1969.  We also set a record with 36 days of 105+ degree days.  Again the old record was 14 days set back in 1969.  This was the hottest summer since record keeping began back in 1907, 104 years ago.

But as I said, the recent tropical storms in the gulf have helped lower our temperatures here and tomorrow is supposed to be a balmy 89 degrees.  Tomorrow morning I think I can get back out and try to do something about bringing my yard back to looking normal.

The fall migration should also be starting in a few days, and I am hoping that there will be enough feed left for the birds to make their annual stopovers, before heading further south.  I have my cameras cleaned and my camera bag gadgets sorted.  I’m ready to get back to trying to capture the beauty of wildlife on the wing and on the ground.

I am glad that I got into photography so many years ago.  After my years of being a professional saxophonist, I had to have another outlet for my creativity.  I wasn’t interested in painting.  Heck, I tried finger-painting, but it took me three weeks to do the kitchen.  So I am happy with photography, and I have found that a person can be just as creative with a camera, as one can with a brush, (or fingers). 🙂

So I am just sitting here pondering the next few months.  In the immediate future, starting tomorrow I will do a series of posts about the doves here in the Concho River Valley.  The dove hunting season started a few days ago so I thought it would be an apt time to do so.

After that, maybe we can work in a trip to the Big Bend country again in a few weeks.  I guess that is where my heart is.  It seems to draw me back each year for at least one visit.  There I might just find some photographic opportunities for some future blog items.  We can hope so.

So have a fun but safe holiday weekend.

8 thoughts on “Happy Labor Day Week-end

  1. I knew you’ve had a rough summer in Texas, but the statistics that you have shared really drive that home. I read that part of your post to Eric, and once again, we were thankful that it’s only been in the 90’s for the duration of the summer here. Here is to hoping for some calm weather ahead of all of us – I am excited to see your new images 🙂

    • This summer was as they say, one for the record books. Actually, we have had summers with no temps over 100 at all. That’s rare, though. Usually, there are a few most years. We have cooler weather from Nov thru Feb. We actually have winter, I think it fell on a Thursday last year. 🙂

      The trip we are planning to the Big Bend area of Texas will be a few weeks away, but hoping to get some new shots. I am running out of subjects to write about.

  2. If you can handle those Michigan days of upper 70s, you can handle the low 90s in the desert. Trust me. 🙂 I know you must be anxious to try your knew camera. What’s keeping you from getting out today? 🙂 Nice to hear from you, Holly. 🙂

    • I’m sure if the humidity levels are low, I could handle much higher temperatures! Not sure what kept me home today…. I kept an eye on the sky waiting to see if it was going to rain (looked like it was going to, but never did). Maybe tomorrow!! I did get some shots at home, may post some soon!

      • Our humidity is really low and that makes the heat bearable. When it gets over 100 though, it is like standing inside an oven if you go outside. We stay in then. But then down around 90 it is very, very pleasant. And no perspiration unless you’re working hard at it. But then you get fooled, and don’t realize how hot it is really is, then you get sun-burned because it is so nice to stay outside.

  3. I bet you’re looking forward to getting out there again for some new images, huh?? All those hot days would drive me absolutely crazy! Tomorrow, it’s actually only going to get up into the upper 60’s for the high (after having a heat index of almost 100 on Friday)! I’m definitely chomping at the bit to get out there for some walks with my new camera. Can’t wait to see what you capture!

    BTW…. it IS OK to use a brush to paint walls….. 😉

Leave a Reply

