Eurasian Collared-Dove: Hunting Season


Fourth in a series about dove species in west Texas. Eurasian Collared-Dove. (Streptopelia decaocto).   Common in San Angelo area but not in great numbers.  In fact, upon investigation this the only usable image that I have in my files.  The largest of the local dove species, it is pale tan in color with a black half-collar.

Eurasian Collared-Dove

  • Photographed  March 11, 2009
  • Canon EOS 40D
  • Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 5/100 sec. @ f8 – ISO 400
  • Lens focal length – 365mm
  • Metering – spot
  • Aperture priority

Click image to see an enlargement.

5 thoughts on “Eurasian Collared-Dove: Hunting Season

  1. I have two of these inherited, for pets. I do not clip their wings, and would let them go if they could survive our winters.
    They are wonderful, talkative, gentle cooers….but boy can they put out the poop!
    I love Abbie and Addison.

  2. This a beautiful dove…great photo and detail..We have dove that feed with us all year ’round. they are really very timid..thanks again for sharing with all of us…by the way my painting of the blue herons is on its way to the Denver Gem and Mineral Show schedule for the next week….

  3. I’m always interested to see your settings – I’m finding it to be quite a challenge to get the hang of knowing which combination of settings will work for my images. Metering can be tricky for me – when to use which kind…. I guess that knowledge only comes with practice!

    • As you can see, some of these images were taken years ago, when I pretty ignorant of some of this stuff, too. I just picked up the camera, set it on aperture priority and shot. Since then I pay more attention. I have learned new things that work best for me. Like the minus 1/3 EV adjustment, for example. As for the bird shots, I think I am liking spot metering, but the jury is still out on that, too. 🙂 I like shutter priority, too, unless the subject isn’t moving much. Then I have more time to make up my mind.

      Like you, I still like to experiment, even though I have been doing this a long time.

Leave a Reply

