Random Images from the past


I have been going through old images again, simply because it is too danged cold to get out and do what I want, and that is to do more photography.  But, alas, I am stuck inside for a day or two, but with a hot cup of hot chocolate, laced with a smidgeon of Kahlua.

Anyway, these images I plucked from the files of October 15.  I don’t think I have posted them before.

Savannah Sparrow

Red-winged Blackbird – female

I usually am not able to get great photos of small birds, but I got lucky with the above female Red-winged Blackbird.  I like the way it is puffed up a bit and showing off more of it’s colors.

juvenile Red-tailed Hawk in tree.

juvenile Red-tailed Hawk in tree.

This juvenile Red-tail Hawk was standing in the crook of the mesquite tree and just looking around, really not paying any attention to me.  I wasn’t close of course, but only about 50 yards away.

Red-winged Blackbird

Red-winged Blackbird

Here I liked the colors in the flowers and habitat where this Red-winged Blackbird was perched.   I also like the way I caught a little eye light.  Click on any of the images to see enlargements.

Well, that’s it for this afternoon.  Time to go freshen my ‘toddy’.

By the way, this is being posted the morning of December 27, but it was written the afternoon before.

PLEASE NOTE:  This is an edited post as of 9:00AM Thursday.  I had originally IDed the female blackbird as a Savannah Sparrow.  Mia McPherson sent me an e-mail and told me of my error.  (I was probably influenced by my little sip of hot chocolate and Kahlua.) 🙂

20 thoughts on “Random Images from the past

  1. I really like the settings in the blackbird shots, Bob. 37 degrees is pretty darn cold for down there, isn’t it? We were 31 degrees colder than that a couple of days ago. Perhaps more than just a “smidgeon” of Kahlua in your coffee would help to keep you warm…

    BTW, Mia helps to keep me on the straight and narrow regarding bird ID too!

  2. Glad to see you are using your forced indoor time wisely!! I had not paid much attention to the female RWB, so thanks for the info. I send you and Ann happy 2013 wishes for health and activity and fun. Hugs!!

  3. Love all three..but favorite has to be the black birds…they come into our feeders in the summer time and really are quite friendly..they sing and my husband whistles at them..gets pretty noisy ..now all we have is snow flakes today and our delightful chickadees and juncos..

  4. I really like the look in the face of that Red-tailed Hawk. Even though it is stationary, it’s eye conveys the idea of motion, like it is about to take off. Good capture, Bob.

    • Yes, Jerry, it is cold down here. But only for a couple of days. Yesterday the high was 37 degrees, but today it is back to a bit more seasonal and forecast high is 61. Nice thing about living here in west Texas, is that these cold fronts just blast in, then blast out in about 48 hours. Sometimes, though, if there accompanying wind, it can really whistle your britches. I don’t think there is anything between here and the Canadian border except a snow fence. – and I think it is laying on the ground. 🙂

Leave a comment