Birding advice for San Angelo State Park


I live only three miles from San Angelo State Park, and most of you know from my posts, that I frequent the place four to five times a week.  I get a large percentage of my bird photographs there, but not where you would suspect.

1Y7A2203-net-hawk-red-tailed-bob-zeller

Red-tailed Hawk

Occasionally, I stop at the bird blind to see what species might have stopped by.  During those visits I often see birders from out of town, that are camping there. I have found that most of them go only to the blind to see birds.  They don’t know what they are missing.

1Y7A5181-net-woodpecker-golden-fronted-bob-zeller

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

I don’t know exact numbers, but I would suspect that there are 200-300 species that can be seen in the park, depending on the time of year.  As you know, they come and go with the migration and changing seasons.  But just a handful visit the blind.  That area mostly draws seed-eaters.  Remember, I said MOSTLY.  Others will stop by on occasion, because of the water feature.

1Y7A3244-net-kinglet-ruby-crown-bob-zeller

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

On a regular basis, you won’t see hawks, owls, egrets, flycatchers and other non-seed eating species.  Oh, yes, as I said, on a rare occasion one of these will stop by, if only for a drink of water, or to snatch an innocent sparrow.

1Y7A0268-net-owl-horned-bob-zeller

Great Horned Owl

I would recommend to leave your campsite, get in your car and just drive slowly over the twenty something miles of roads.  Watch the trees and brush for movement and you can get some pleasant surprises.  It is always fun to come upon some warblers, kinglets or gnatcatchers darting around.

1Y7A1243-net-pelicans-bob-zeller

American White Pelicans

O.C. Fisher Lake is another great spot.  Pelicans, egrets, herons, grebes and other water birds can be seen at or from the shorelines.

4G7A7825-net-avocet-bob-zeller

American Avocet

So my advice is to spend a couple of hours just cruising the park.  You will be surprised how many bird you can see.  After that, go to the bird blind and pad your lists. 🙂

For prints of these and some of my other work click HERE.

Until my next post, HAPPY BIRDING!!!

 

6 thoughts on “Birding advice for San Angelo State Park

  1. Good reminder there Bob! Slowly moving your “Bird Blind” down a road or lane is enjoyable and if you need to move over and let someone pass who isn’t smelling the roses and seeing the birds, it is their loss. On county roads you can see the dust coming your way and prepare yourself, AND raise the windows!! That avocet is a beauty and I could watch him wade and fish all day! Thanks for the awesome photos and the post. hugs

    • Thanks, Beth, for the comment to this post, and the previous posts. I, too, am behind. Still not up to snuff, but gradually improving as the days go by. But, I am back to blogging, so that is a plus. 🙂

  2. Good advice! One of my favourite parks has no blind, but they are not all on the lake. i have got to know their favourite haunts along specific trails, or in different bushes , and they keep coming back.

Leave a comment