The skinny guy might have talent…….


This past week was spent doing a few odd things around the house, and a few hours birding.  Nothing spectacular captured, but after getting home and looking at my results a second time, I realized that there might be some keepers here.   Here are some highlights.

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

This American Kestrel was sitting on a utility cable near the entrance to Middle Concho Park.  I love these feisty little raptors.  A ferocity belies their cute appearance.

American White Pelican

American White Pelican

Yes, we do have a few Pelicans this far from the coast.  Nearly every year a few make San Angelo their winter home.  I was especially proud of this image that I captured of one just placidly gliding along.

Northern Flicker

Northern Flicker

This Northern Flicker is the yellow-shafted variety as you can see by the the yellow feathers beneath the tail.

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

A female Eastern Bluebird perched on a tree.

Bewick's Wren

Bewick’s Wren

This Bewick’s Wren (pronounced buick’s).  He thought that I couldn’t see him, but my 150-600mm lens sought him out.

Greater Yellowlegs

Greater Yellowlegs

The Greater Yellowlegs loves to wade in the waters of the Spring Creek Park.  I wonder where he got the name.

Osprey

Osprey

The Osprey, one of my favorite raptors.  Hope you like this image.  I feel that he is just sitting and pondering the future.  As a matter of fact, the more I look at this photo, the more I like it myself.  Heck, I just may have a bit of artistic talent myself.  Notice in the title of this post that I opted for ‘skinny guy’ over ‘old geezer’.  Hey, I still have my ego to contend with.

Click on any enlargement to see some great enlargements.

18 thoughts on “The skinny guy might have talent…….

  1. Great pics, Bob. The raptors are my favorites – the Kestrel and the Osprey. The Ospreys have come back this way. I love hearing their cries as I walk along the water!

  2. Reblogged this on Nothing But Birds and commented:
    I became rather fond of Ospreys after my recent trip to Orange Beach, Alabama, where they are very common. And I watched the pair on webcam actually fighting off other Ospreys trying to steal their nest…and there is where I got the photo of the pair, their nest, and the moon. Great photos in this blog Bob.

  3. the pelican and the yellowlegs in the water– looks like if I touch the screen I would get my fingers wet! The flicker is so pretty.

  4. I’m still pondering what kinds of “odd things” you were doing around the house. 😉 LOL
    Great photos, of course, that goes without saying! (But there, I said it anyway. 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

