Fort Davis abreviated visit.


Once again, my medical problems intervened with our anniversary trip to the Davis Mountains.  But not to worry, as I write this I am feeling fine again.

We arrived late in the afternoon on Sunday, and this is what greeted us just a few miles before we were to arrive in Fort Davis.

Gathering storm over the Davis Mountains of west Texas.

Gathering storm over the Davis Mountains of west Texas.

We were in luck as the rains held off until later that evening.  As we were unloading, this Say’s Phoebe hopped along a concrete curb.  That was a bird that we could add to our 2014 Texas Big Year list.  A nice start to our weekend.

Say's Phoebe

Say’s Phoebe

We were staying at the Davis Mountains Inn, a very nice bed-n-breakfast.  Our room was huge with king-sized bed, flat-screen TV, jacuzzi, walk-in showers, and a walk-in closet that was big enough to use as a spare bedroom.

We were early enough so after checking in and putting our stuff away, we decided to make a quick run to the bird viewing area at Davis Mountains State Park.  Immediately, we were able to see and photograph a White-breasted Nuthatch.

White-breasted Nuthatch

White-breasted Nuthatch

A Rufous Hummingbird lit on a nearby feeder.  I had only a few seconds to get a shot.  I rattled off a few, but unfortunately all of the images caught him as he was dipping his head to get that nectar.

Adult Rufous Hummingbird at the feed trough.

Adult Rufous Hummingbird at the feed trough.

We left after that to get some dinner then head back to our room to get some sleep, looking forward to a full next day of birding and getting some photographs.

The next morning, Monday, Annette Huffaker cooked us a very excellent breakfast of scrambled eggs, tasty sausage and a creation of hers, french toast casserole.  Breakfast was served at 8:00, but as Ann and I rise much earlier, we were there drinking coffee and sitting on the porch, watching the sunrise, and a few butterflies.

Queen Butterfly

Queen Butterfly

After eating, we headed back to the state park.  Going straight to the bird viewing area, we were then quickly rewarded with a female Black-headed Grosbeak,

female Black-headed Grosbeak

female Black-headed Grosbeak

a male Black-headed Grosbeak,

male Black-headed Grosbeak

male Black-headed Grosbeak

then a male Summer Tanager.

Summer Tanager

Summer Tanager

We saw several other species there, but the above photos were some of the highlights.  Traveling between the park and our inn, I was able to photograph a Cassin’s Kingbird.  It wasn’t a new bird for me, but it was the first time I was able to get a good photograph of one.  The Cassin’s is a rare kingbird around our home in San Angelo, but here in the Davis Mountains, they are seen quite regularly.

Cassin's Kingbird

Cassin’s Kingbird

It was about then that I experienced some medical problems, and I ended up spending the rest of the day resting in our room.  But we were happy with what we saw for the three or four hours that we were able to spend.  We saw 32 species and we added four new one to our 2014 Texas Big Year list.  We are now at 178, with our goal of 200 well in sight.

We hope to come back to the Davis Mountains soon, but we also want to visit Bob Shackleford down in Uvalde, Texas so see some great birds, and also make another trip to the Big Bend National Park area.  So if my health holds out we still have an exciting fall and winter coming up.

I hope you enjoyed this post and and the photographs.  Click on any of them to see enlargements.

 

19 thoughts on “Fort Davis abreviated visit.

  1. Somehow I missed this but am glad to have found it. The storm clouds are spectacular. I pray I see a Say’s Phoebe that looks that good sometime in my life. Sorry you had to cut the trip short. Glad you are feeling better!

    • Thank you so much, Sheen. I am feeling great again, I don’t know what was the cause of the issues that I experienced. Anyway, YES, definitely looking forward to Big Bend. 🙂

  2. So sorry about the medical issues rearing their ugly head. 😦 You got some awesome photos in the time you were able to spend. I thought those gathering storm clouds were amazing! I would love to see some of these birds that I’m unfamiliar with, such as the black-headed grosbeak and the Say’s phoebe.

    Take care and rest up, Bob. I know you have more adventures on your calendar!

    • Ann and I have been doing some thinking about my med issue. Since it was completely different from past experiences, we think I was bitten by a spider or something similar. It caused my BP to soar, and I was dis-oriented and very weak. I couldn’t walk for more than a few feet and I had to sit down. Since getting home, I improved and by yesterday morning, I was feeling pretty much normal

  3. Y’all managed to cram a bunch of birds into the time you were able to be out and about. Those pesky medical issues have really bad timing! Glad you recovered quickly and that your positive spirit is still coming through. Thanks for sharing the photos – excellent as usual. Know you and Ann are looking forward to those other outings. hugs

  4. Sorry to hear you had to cut short your visit, Bob, but I’m glad you’re feeling better now. You still managed to get a lot of great pics. The butterfly is a stunner!

  5. Beautiful images…..do hope things continue to go well for you. I want to thank you for sharing all the info on the Tamron lens…finally received mine and I love it. Now call those guys up and get your commission!

Leave a Reply

