Lewis’s Woodpecker and more


Ann and I got out of the house over the weekend to try to do some birding and hopefully get some photos.  We found that because of spring break, our local city parks are over-run with campers, fishermen, and just people enjoying the nice weather.  Also, there was a professional Disc Golf Tournament going on at Middle Concho Park.  But before I get to that, I would like to tell you about seeing the Lewis’s Woodpecker yesterday, Monday, morning at San Angelo State Park.

Anyway, one of our reasons to heading to SASP was to see if the Lewis’s Woodpecker was still in residence.  It was and is, with it being here since mid-November.  I guess he likes it here, far away from his usual range.  He is hanging around in the same copse of three trees.  However, the Lewis’s Woodpecker loves to perch up very high.  Here those three trees, are leafless near the tops and he can see quite far from about 35-40 feet up.  It also makes for difficult photographs.  He appears quite small in the viewfinder and dark against the blank sky.  This photo was hand-held with my Canon 7D Mark II and Tamron 150-600mm lens.  As much as I tried to adjust for the lighting, I still had to do a little brightening in my post-processing, not to mention some drastic cropping.

Lewis's Woodpecker

Lewis’s Woodpecker

After getting several images, we drove around through that portion of the park.  It may be because of the lateness of the day, but we didn’t see too many other bird species except for this Vesper Sparrow and…….

Vesper Sparrow

Vesper Sparrow

…….this American Robin.

American Robin

American Robin

Now here are some images from the prior three days.  Even though the parks were getting crowded I did manage to get a few usable photos.

Ring-necked Duck - female

Ring-necked Duck – female

A sleeping Great Horned Owl.

A sleeping Great Horned Owl.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Pied-billed Grebe

Pied-billed Grebe

Osprey

Osprey

Click on any of the images to see some nice enlargements.

10 thoughts on “Lewis’s Woodpecker and more

  1. Amazing photos, Bob, considering the inconvenient habits of the woodpecker! He is very beautiful. I don’t ever remember getting close enough to one of our own woodpeckers to take photos. I love the owl, too. Always great to see what birds you come across!

  2. Enjoyed your photos.That Lewis’ woodpecker was darn good considering the distance. And it is nice to see the robin , I am waiting for my first sighting this spring. The Canada geese are arriving here in Alberta and I have sighted an uncommon Boreal Chickadee a couple of times-nothing else out of the ordinary.Happy birding and happy shooting.

  3. Bob….My wife and I went grocery shopping yesterday and while we were sitting in the parking lot I saw a large bird circling overhead and I thought to myself I wish The Funky Old Dude was here with his camera…it was a Bald Eagle!

Leave a Reply

