Lazuli Buntings


These are some photos I shot of a Lazuli Bunting (Passerina amoena), back in May of 2010.  It was at the Hummer House in Christoval, Texas.  They have a large viewing room with large plate glass windows, with seating for about 35 people.  This particular day the sun was shining bright and there were many species of birds present.

When I bird there, I find a comfortable spot so I have my camera on a tripod right next to the window.  I attach my Canon 500mm f4 IS lens and a 1.4 tele-converter.  Dan Brown, the owner of the establishment keeps the birds well fed and a little mister keeps spraying a bit of water intermittently over a little pond in front.  The distance from my camera to these buntings approximately 30 feet.

Lazuli Bunting

Lazuli Bunting

The two images above were both photographed in aperture priority, 1/640 sec @ f5.6 at an ISO of 500, partial metering.

Lazuli Bunting

The above image was shot about two years earlier in May of 2008.  As you can see all photos were taken during the spring migration.  My old camera, a Canon EOS 40D was used at this time.  I still had my 500mm lens, though, and the exposure was 1/320 sec. @ f7.1, with ISO of 800.  Aperture priority with center weighted metering.

I hope you enjoyed my photographs of the Lazuli Bunting.  Click on either of them to see an enlarged view.

22 thoughts on “Lazuli Buntings

  1. This is so beautiful dear Bob, I haven’t seen and known before. Actually I am not very well about birds knowledge. How amazing! The colours are so beautiful, the name should be coming from this blue… I mean Lazuli… lapis lazuli… or… I am impressed so much, I wished to be there to take their pictures. It should be very exciting. You did great shots dear Bob, Thank you, with my love, nia

  2. I love these photos, and I really like how your have the birds connecting with the viewer in the photos. Just adds such a personal touch that I really love, Bob! As always great job, and thanks for sharing these wonderful birds with me! 🙂

Leave a comment