Saturday Morning Ramblings


Well, here it is Saturday morning, and I can’t decide what I want to write about.  It is cold, 37 degrees if the weather people know what they are talking about.  Cloudy and dampish, too.  The kind of day that make you feel blah and restless.  This is west Texas, too, so where is all of our usual sunshine?  Up above all of those clouds, to be sure.

We had a nice start to the day, though.  We met our good friends, Gene and Ethel Berger down at The Village Cafe for breakfast.  It is a regular Saturday morning thing, and it is the time that we solve most of the world’s problems.

This morning I think we made the right decisions to re-organize the Texas Rangers so they will win the World Series in 2012.  We said goodbye to C. J. Wilson.  He wanted more money (so what else is new), so he went to the L. A. Angels.  We then moved Feliz to the regular pitching rotation.   Of course, the newspapers already said these were done deals, but we had to approve them. 🙂

I just looked out the door at our bird feeders.  Nothing much happening.  Just a bunch of White-winged Doves, House Finches, and House Sparrows.  Now that I think about it, those White-winged Doves, (Zenaida asiatica), are kinda pretty in their own way.  I wonder if I have a photo.  Hold on a minute, and I’ll check my files.  It will only take a sec.  Okay, I found two.

White-winged Dove

White-winged Dove

Oops.  I think I accidentally published this post before I was finished.  I will now finish it up.  Gosh, this turned out to be a post with pictures, when I originally thought it would be a blah post.  Just shows to go ya, what ya can do if you just sit down and start writing. 🙂  Enjoy the weekend.

24 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Ramblings

  1. I think all birds are pretty in some way. My Mother hates Doves…she says they are ugly and noisy. I think it’s because when she was young there was a nest outside her bedroom window and they used to wake her up. Nice photos Bob!

  2. We have a lot of doves here but I’m not sure what kind they are. I will try to take a picture with my new camera (hurray).

    Would love to fly over (hehe!) and join you guys at that cafe – sounds like fun!

  3. Well, Bob, I for one am happy that you published these pics because I have never seen a white-winged dove.I didn’t know it was snowing there(actually, there is fake snow that falls down the photo from the website.) Hope tomorrow brings lots of sunshine 🙂

  4. Bob, I happen to love White-winged Doves and yours are beautiful. Your post made me smile, today I’ve just been trying to figure out a way to solve a local problem, getting an area declared an IBA to offer birds some protection and writing about the reason why. Kind of disheartening. Anyway, your post made me smile.

  5. Nice pic of the lonesome dove. Hope you guys in your Breakfast Summit got it right about our Rangers. They will undoubtedly rip our hearts out, though, as Dallas teams typically do (Mavs excepted, but I don’t look for a repeat championship from them especially with the star center bailing out for more $ (what else is new indeed).) Surely you know that when it comes to Dallas sports always hope for the best but prepare for heartache and trauma after they’ve taken you up only to let you down hard.

  6. I am so glad you published the White Winged Dove..we have the Turtle Doves here and they feed on the ground under our feeders and we enjoy each and every one of the them..Regarding the Texas Rangers, maybe you all need to reorganize the original ones and clean up the borders on Arizona, New Mexico and Texas. LOL..Have a great day..headed for the studio to paint some Cardinals…

    • Thanks for writing, Syl, maybe we can clean up the border next Saturday morning. 🙂

      Have fun painting, Try to get more paint on the canvas, than you do on your clothes. 🙂

  7. Bob what a nice thing that you can combine three hobbies into one. Writing,picture taking and bird watching. What a lucky fellow you are. Glad to know that the worlds problems are solved at least for today. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the leaders could sit down and reason together. What a wonderful thing that would be.

    We have quite a few doves at our feeders also. Red birds are the big visitors here . We love them. When I was a child I lived in the Panhandle and there if we saw a red bird it meant we were going see someone we were not expecting to see. Funny little things we remember. Keep on smiling and taking pictures. Carolyn

    • Thanks for you great comment, Carolyn. It’s funny, after I published this post and re-read it, I thought, “now I’ve done it, people are going to think I have gotten to the sour mash a little too often”. I don’t consider myself to be a writer, but I have a heck of a lot of fun trying.

      I really enjoy your comments. Keep ‘em coming.

Leave a Reply

