It doesn’t get any better than this……..


This morning Ann and I decided to again take a little drive out to Spring Creek Park, near Lake Nasworthy.  As we were driving through, I was reminded very much of a post that a fellow blogger wrote recently.  Shannon, who lives in the Houston area has an ideal place to go when she is feeling down and unable to cope.  She gets out and strolls through the large trees and by the creek that is on her land.  Check out her poignant post and her photos (click) here.  I can relate very much with her as many times I have felt that I just wanted to get away.

Today was an example.  The weather promised to be another hot day, and Ann and I decided to try and beat the heat and took a short drive to some local parks near Lake Nasworthy.

Western Kingbird

Western Kingbird

Sometimes we just drive slowly through the trees, and part of the time we leave the car and stroll.  I always have my camera in hand.  We saw a beautiful Vermilion Flycatcher, one of my favorite birds.  An equally pretty bird that arrived recently to spend the summer is the Western Kingbird.  Nearby was a Great Blue Heron strolling, watching for a quick lunch.

Vermilion Flycatcher

Vermilion Flycatcher

For us it doesn’t get any better.  I think my overall health is much better when I can get out as often as I can.  Ann is much happier when she can accompany me, so that is an added bonus.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

All three of the photos were taken this morning on our driving slash stroll.  I just doesn’t get any better than this.  In all, I think we saw about twenty-seven different species in a short two hours. Click on any image to see an enlargement.

22 thoughts on “It doesn’t get any better than this……..

  1. Glad to hear your getting out often, nature and fresh air is the best medicine! And we’re so lucky to see what beautiful birds you capture. I am always thrilled at your photos Bob! Happy birding you love birds! 🙂

  2. Beautiful shots, Bob! I have plans to visit Texas next spring and although the target species will be Golden-Winged Warbler I sure hope to see some of your birds. 🙂

    • Thanks, Lisa. I guess you will be headed for the gulf coast. That warbler is a pretty thing, and you should have a great chance to see it……..and many others. I spent 3 days in the Big Bend and saw 67. I thought that was pretty good until a friend of mine from Canada spent the same time in south Texas and saw 133. 🙂

  3. These are beautiful, Bob. Unfortunately the place I most go to to get away is trying to get rid of the fowl-that drives me crazy! Better find another spot.

  4. There’s just something about nature that soothes the soul. I don’t know how I would cope if I didn’t have the northwoods to retreat to whenever life gets too stressful. Beautiful photos and what a blessing to have such wonderful places to get away to, for a quick drive or stroll when you need a break from life!

  5. 27 species in two hours is very good going! Love the vermilion flycatcher – how could you miss that? In the UK that would cause a traffic pile-up! Gorgeous pics as always, Bob! I’m glad to hear also that getting outdoors is improving your health – even more reason to do so!

    • I chuckled at your remark about the Vermilion Flycatcher tying up traffic. That can only mean that you don’t have too many gorgeous birds. What a shame. Thanks for commenting, Jo.

  6. What a great surprise today! I’ve always felt that you “get” me for who I am. Some of our similarities are eerily exciting (music, Michigan, Scrabble) and I see my future being much of what you and Ann are doing today, only it will be ME with the camera and Scott longing to get outside with me.

    You’re so right. It doesn’t get much better than this! Thanks so much for the bloggy shout-out and for being a most excellent on-line bud. And even that status may be changing very, very soon — for the better, no doubt. 🙂

    • You must have a bumper-sticker on your car that reads “I Shoot All Posers” ’cause that seems to be all you ever get. I get a lot of butts and fly-aways… LOL

    • I so appreciate both of your comments, Shannon, there is so much I want to say in response, so watch for a more in-depth e-mail later on. It may be as late as tomorrow PM. 🙂

  7. Very nice photos! You are the only person I know who can make trash look colorful and tasteful in a photo of your fav bird! So nice. And I agree, getting away from the maddening crowd is a must some times. Glad you and Ann have such great places to go play. hugs and prayers for OK.

  8. Wow..you are right..it doesn’t get any better than this…great photos..and know you and Ann had a good time …..bless and take care of each other…We are all praying here for Oklahoma and your weather in Texas..

  9. I think that “I need to get away from it all” is going on around the country, Bob. We are just getting around to the time of year where we can safely plant our gardens and what does Mother Nature do? Gives us rain all week. LOL

    A quick note of prayer for the victims of the horrible storm damage and loss of life in Oklahoma.

Leave a Reply

