Roseate Spoonbills


Two Roseate Spoonbills were seen at O. C. Fisher Lake at San Angelo State Park.  As soon as Ranger Melanie Lacy called me from the park, I high-tailed it out there to see if I could spot it.  After all, it would be a “lifer” for me.  I spotted them as soon as I got there with my spotting scope.  To try to get as close as possible for any chance of a photograph.  I lugged my tripod and my Canon 7d with a 2x teleconverter down to the bottom of the boat ramp at the water’s edge.  Even then the distance was so great I could barely make them out in my view-finder.  I also had to manual focus.  This is the finished shot after extensive cropping and sharpening.  Nothing to write home about but good enough to make an ID.  By the way, Melanie says this the first ever sighting of a Roseate Spoonbill at the park.

Roseate Spoonbills

 

Hopefully, they will stay a few days so more people can see them.  It would be great if they would also move to a closer location for easier viewing.