Ash-throated Flycatcher – Quiz news


Before I get into the subject of my post, I want to say that I am curtailing my quizzes for a few weeks.  The reason for that is that I am beginning to work on a book that I have been considering for a long time.  I have found that, by working over the weekend just trying to design the cover, that the project is going to take some time, and will need my undivided attention. The book when finished, will be a handsome thing featuring  most of my photography, both nature and landscapes.  Perhaps, some of you may be interested when the time comes.  But enough about that for now.

There are many Ash-throated Flycatchers (Myiarchus cinerascens),in the area at the present time.  When traveling through Middle Concho Park a few days ago, the opportunity popped up to get this magnificent image.

Ash-throated Flycatcher

If you have needed to ID one of these, you will find that there are many different flycatchers that resemble this one.  It can be a very confusing task.  Photographed with my Canon EOS 7d, Canon 500mm f4 lens with 1.4 tele-converter.  Exposure 1/1250 sec. @ f5.6, ISO 400.  Except for the white of the breast being almost blown out, I am pretty satisfied with the result.  I hope you are, too.

By the way, during my work on the book, I will still try to do three or four posts each week.