Happy Blue Heron Parents


This morning early, I drove downtown to where the Concho River flows through the Santa Fe Park.  Along the bank of the river is a dead tree that hangs out over the water.  There are two Great Blue Heron nests near the top.  At least one of them has a new-born in it.  Since they are about 20 feet above me in elevation, it is difficult to actually see into them.  The skies were overcast and cloudy, and the lighting was excellent.  No harsh shadows to worry about.  The adults were coming and going, but I got this shot of both of them, plus the head of the tiny chick sticking up a bit.  I was about twenty feet away from the base of the tree, and up a small slope.

A happy family of Great Blue Herons.

A happy family of Great Blue Herons.

I hope you enjoyed the shot.  Click on it to see an enlargement.