Great Horned Owl update plus


Hi all.  It’s been another week gone by since my last post.  Trying to catch up with our yard chores, so we haven’t got out as much as we would like.  But in between errands we managed to make some short trips through the local parks.  We checked in on the Great Horned Owl nest at Spring Creek Park.  The mother is still sitting on her eggs.

Great Horned Owl - female on nest.

Great Horned Owl – female on nest.

About seventy-five yards away, the father is still keeping a sharp lookout for any threats.  As you can see, though, he does take much-needed siestas.  He really blends in with the surroundings.

Great Horned Owl - alertly keeping an eye out.

Great Horned Owl – alertly keeping an eye out.

Here are a few other images from that area.

I finally got a nice photo of a White-eyed Vireo.  They are another elusive, tiny bird.  This was the first time in many years that I had this opportunity to photography one.  I must give credit to our fellow birder friend, Randy Hesford, for pointing it out to us.

White-eyed Vireo

White-eyed Vireo

Also, we spotted this Marsh Wren.  It is the first decent photo I have of one of these species, too.

Marsh Wren

Marsh Wren

In the same reeds that we saw the wren, this Lincoln’s Sparrow made an appearance.

Lincoln's Sparrow

Lincoln’s Sparrow

There is an area near the south entance to Spring Creek Park, where we have observed some Black-crowned Night Herons.  Over the past few years, we have seen adults and juveniles.  This photo shows that one of the young ones is starting to show some maturing.  It is a first-year, I believe.  Notice that he/she is losing some of that baby brown, and developing the black back of an adult.

Black-crowned Night Heron - first year

Black-crowned Night Heron – first year

Driving farther along the wider expanse of the water, I saw this Great Blue Heron about 250 yards away.  I hate to pass up a nice scene with one of my favorites of the herons.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

One windy afternoon, we ventured out to San Angelo State Park, and checked out a few birds in a short drive-around.  This is another photographic first for me.  I had never had to opportunity to capture some Tree Swallows.  There were around 100 sitting on some high lines.

Tree Swallows

Tree Swallows

To finish up the day, we checked the water level at O.C. Fisher Lake and saw a few Least Sandpipers scampering along the end of a boat ramp.

Least Sandpipers

Least Sandpipers

That’s about it for this post.  I hope you enjoyed the images.  Click on any of them to see enlargements.  I’ll be back in a few days.

 

19 thoughts on “Great Horned Owl update plus

  1. Good to know the owl is still on her nest. This couple should be familiar with your mobile hide by now and not blink an eye! That little Vireo is a cutie!! Thanks for sharing your finds; beautiful photos all around. Enjoy Spring and celebrate Easter. hugs

  2. Your season is definitely ahead of ours but your photos are giving me a pleasant preview of what is to come.I saw nesting owls last year so hope they make it back safely this year.We have a few red-eyed vireos in this area, never seen a white-eyed one. One species that I have seen a couple of times in Edmonton, Alberta area this year is the White-winged Crossbills.Happy birding and shooting!

    • Thanks, Jane, for your lovely comment. Yes, we are definitely ahead of you. My relatives in Michigan say the same. I had never heard of the White-winged Crosssbills.

  3. Thank you for sharing your bird photos. I noticed your photo of the Lincoln Sparrow..I photographed a bird like your Lincoln Sparrow thinking it was a Swamp Sparrow or a Song Sparrow. Now your Lincoln Sparrow has me convinced I photographed a Lincoln Sparrow. Hmmm!!!!

    • Thanks, Kayaker. The Lincoln’s Sparrow is similar to the Song Sparrow. I used to confuse them, too. But the Lincoln’s has that beige coloring on the breast.

  4. You have some great pics. I need to drive the reeds and hopefully find a Marsh Wren. I’m going to make a run out to spring creek park to find the youngster an get a current pic of it’s maturing. Also, it seems like you and the owls should be on a first name basis by now.

Leave a comment