Red-tailed Hawk taking a bath


I have seen some peculiar things when trying to photograph the behavior of wildlife.  Last week, when driving along the Concho River, I happened to look across at the opposite shore.  I saw something that took me by surprise.  A Red-tailed Hawk was just sitting in the shallow water.  I didn’t see any prey that he might have been eating.  He was there several minutes and I had plenty of time to maneuver my car so I could get this shot out the driver’s side window.  He was about 100 yards away so I used my 500mm and 1.4 tele-converter on my Canon 7D.  I still had to crop it extensively to make this closeup.

Red-tailed Hawk bathing in Concho River.

Red-tailed Hawk bathing in Concho River.

Farther along the river, I spotted this Great Blue Heron.  He was standing on some dead wood above the surface of the water.  I love this pose.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

On the way home we spotted four Curve-billed Thrashers.  In this photo you can see the ferocity in the eyes.  But for such a fierce looking bird. their call is pretty meek sounding.

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher

Click on any photo to see an enlargement.

20 thoughts on “Red-tailed Hawk taking a bath

  1. Sometimes birds just take a break. And we get to witness this because we watch out for them. How many people are oblivious to what goes on around them. I feel so blessed for having taken the time.Thank you Bob and happy Easter!

    • Thank you, Jane. I agree. I see people running or driving through our parks, not realizing that they are only a few feet from some jaw-dropping nature. Happy Easter to you, too.

  2. Wow. Beautiful captures, Bob. The Curve-Billed Thrasher is just lovely. I found it difficult to get a good picture of this bird even though they were somewhat abundant when I was in New Mexico last spring. And who knew Red-Tails had time to bathe?!

  3. Really enjoyed these photos! That GBH is wonderful and the colors are so nice. Glad to see the hawk chillin’ out a bit. Thanks for posting. Hope you and Ann are doing well. hugs

  4. The Concho River seems to serve up these nice birds and you always do such a great job of photographing them. Keep up the good work, Bob.

Leave a comment