Another Great Blue Heron


I hope that you don’t think that I am obsessed with the Great Blue Heron, (Ardea herodias).  It just happens that they around here in great numbers and I love it that they are so photogenic.  They are majestic and graceful, as this photographfy shows.  I was above him.  He was hidden from my view, but I knew that he was about 10 feet below me, in the reeds against the river bank.  I was straining to see him, when he took off in a blur, heading for the opposite bank.  The fact that he was moving away from me made it easier for the auto-focus of my Canon 7D to lock on and track him.  This image is as he was starting to land across the river about 150 yards away.

Great Blue Heron preparing to land

I don’t especially like the busy background, but of course, there is nothing I could do about it.   I hope you like it.  I am sorry that I haven’t posted since Sunday, but I needed to have a new photo for you.  I didn’t get out much this week as I have been busy preparing for our trip to the Big Bend area coming up.  We will be leaving Sunday morning and I needed to get the car’s oil changed, car washed, numerous appointments that had to be taken care of.  I will give you more info on the trip in my next post, probably this week-end.  Click the image to see an enlarged image.

Pertinent exposure information:  Canon EOS 7D with Canon 100-400mm zoom lens, hand-held.  1/640 sec. @ f9, ISO 250.  Spot metering and aperture priority.

41 thoughts on “Another Great Blue Heron

  1. Bob, I happen to love the Great Blue Heron myself & had the pleasure of hosting one in my suburban in-ground pool a few years back for a few hours. Wish I had a snap of that! Beautiful photo!

  2. It is definitely majestic. The vast span of its wings is magnificent. 🙂

    A very interesting post, Bob! And a beautiful photo.

  3. All the wonderful adjectives have been used to describe this photo..except for the unbelievable detail of the actual anatomy of this bird and the placement of the feathers. The detail captured in this shot is superb. Glad you are getting ready to go to Big Bend..Have lots of fun and get lots of new photos to share with all of us..drive safe..

  4. I need my car washed too (: I’ve been days on dirt roads and the dirt was so thick it was actually difficult to carve “Dirty Mom” on my driver’s side door today.

    Hope you and Ann have a lovely trip!

    Warmly,
    Melissa

  5. I saw this shot and my first thought was “majestic” but no, you already said that. So my next thought was “graceful,” yup, you said that one too. What other superlatives are left that would be fitting of such a beautiful bird shot? Well, how about regal?

    This is an amazing photograph, Bob. ~ Lynda

  6. The GBH may be common but they make great subjects and you’ve done well with this one Bob. Wonderful pose and great exposure. By the way – love the name of your blog! Have a great trip.

    • Thank you, Ron, for your comment. I thought about changing the name once, because I thought people would confuse it with ‘Twitter’, but I got voted down by my other blog readers. So ‘Texas Tweeties’ it will stay. 🙂

  7. wonderful, i think i have herons like this here in the summer, though i think they are lighter, greyer , they have not come yet, if i stop right next to them in the car they do not care, if i move for the camera they are gone! beautiful creatures. c

Leave a Reply

