So Many Birds, So Little Time


As you know, if you have been paying attention, I am an avid birder.  Not only that, but an avid bird photographer as well.  However, I didn’t really get into birding or make my first usable bird photo until just four years ago.  At that time, I was at a friend’s house in Knoxville, Tennessee.  I noticed some colorful birds outside of her window.  She generously removed the window screen and opened the window so I could have unobstructed views.  I got some very nice images of a Northern Cardinal and a House Finch.  It was then that I realized what I had been missing, and then I was hooked.  But, I was seventy-three years of age at that time.

So if I am going to photograph every bird that I see, I better get a move on.  There are around 750 birds in the US of A and I have only seen 245 of them to date.  Of those, I have probably photographed 175.  I will have to go through my records to clarify that.  At any rate, I have a long way to go and only 23 years to go if I intend to get finished by my centennial year.

So here are four more to add to the collection.  I have actually photographed them before, but some of these are improvements over the previous photos.  These were taken this past Friday, all near Lake Nasworthy.  All were photographed with my Canon EOS 7D, 500mm f4 lens with a 1.4 tele-converter attached.

Great Egret

Great Egret.  Photographed at Spring Creek Park.  Bird was across the river about 200 feet away.  1/2500 sec. @ f5.6, -0.3EV, ISO 2500.  Tripod mounted.

White-faced Ibis

White-faced Ibis.  Three of these were feeding in Mary Lee Park near Lake Nasworthy.  They are migratory, and probably won’t hang around long.  Exposure was 1/1250 sec. @ f5.6, +0.7EV, ISO 400.  Distance was about 95 feet.  Photographed from the window of my car.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron.  Again, this bird was across the river about 125 feet away.  1/1000 sec. @ f6.3, -0.3EV, ISO 400.  Photographed from car window.

Bullock’s Oriole

Bullock’s Oriole.  This is probably the best photo I have ever taken of this specie.  They are quick, and move around a lot, not staying in one place but for a few seconds.  Exposure 1/1250 sec. @ f6.3, ISO 400.  Shot from car window about 45 feet away.

I hope you enjoy the photos.  Click on any of them to see enlargements.