Black-crowned Night Herons


I was driving through the park one day.

In the merry, merry month of May.

I was taken by surprise,

By a pair of roguish eyes.

In the merry, merry month of May. 🙂

Actually, I was driving through our downtown city park on the Concho River.  I had just finished photographing some young Great Blue Heron chicks on their nest.  I happened to glance across the river, and there was this (here it comes) pair of roguish eyes of a Black-crowned Night Heron looking at me.

Black-crowned Night Heron

Here it is sitting in the tree branches contemplating this beautiful day in May.

Black-crowned Night Heron

He gets alerted to something.  He stands up on the tree branch and looks around. (with those roguish eyes, of course.)

Black-crowned Night Heron

Whatever has distracted him has made him restless, and he decided to fly away on a lovely day in the merry, merry month of May.

Photographed with my Canon EOS 7D and 500mm lens with a 1.4 tele-converter, tripod mounted.  Exposure about 1/1250 sec. @f6.3, -0.3EV, ISO 160.  Click on any image to see an enlargement.

Quiz #5 – Results


Here are the results of the fifth Bird ID quiz.  This one was a bit tougher for some people, however most of you got it right.  Here is the original picture of the bird in question.

Red-naped Sapsucker

Red-naped Sapsucker:  (The correct guess).   25 votes

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Golden-fronted Woodpecker   1 vote

Red-headed Woodpecker   2 votes

Acorn Woodpecker

Acorn Woodpecker   1 vote

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Ladder-backed Woodpecker   5 votes

So that does it for this week’s quiz.  I thank everyone for participating.  On Monday I will publish Quiz #6.