Nesting Yellow-crowned Night Herons


A few days ago I mentioned that I had found a nest of Yellow-crowned Night Herons, (Nyctanassa violacea), in a residential neighborhood near here.  We went there and I was able to capture a few pictures.  The first one shows the mother on the nest.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron – adult on nest

In this second photo, if you look closely, you can see the tiny chicks peeking through the twigs.  Click the photos to enlarge.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron – adult on nest

The nest was about 20 feet off of the ground and I was about another 30 feet away, so I was photographing at an upward angle.  Hopefully, in a few days the chicks will be larger so I can get better photos of them.  They generally fledge in about 3-4 weeks and I assume that these chicks were probably about a week old.

Note:  Still time to vote in this week’s quiz.  Click here  BIRDQUIZ